We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
84
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a warm welcome from Barbara and some much needed coffee on our arrival. We stayed in the Chatsworth room which was very spacious had a large king-sized four-poster bed, which was very comfortable, and a lovely view over the Pavilion Gardens. Lots of nice touches in the room, including a small decanter of sherry and good quality toiletries in the shower room. The room and bathroom were both nice and clean.We both enjoyed the well-cooked full English breakfast, and the buffet with fruit, yoghurts etc. was a pleasant surprise. My only criticism was the size of the shower room, which I found a bit small. We both enjoyed our brief stay and would certainly stay there again if we returned to Buxton. Barbara was a charming and helpful hostess, and we would thoroughly recommend the Buxton Victorian.

Room Tip: The Chatsworth room was quiet and had a lovely view over the Pavilion Gardens
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fisiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have recently returned from our second stay, and would not contemplate staying any where else in Buxton! The owners take great pride in having everywhere immaculate, and provide top class accommodation, a lovely breakfast, and go out of their way to be helpful and informative about the area.

Room Tip: They do not possess a "bad" room!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a delightful stay, which began with a warm welcome from Barbara accompanied by tea and biscuits in front of a open fire. Smashing room which was the epitome of comfort and (a first for us, ever, in a B&B) a decanter of sherry! All terribly civilised. Good advice about where to eat. Breakfast was a fabulous - and delicious - take on the 'full English'. We loved having this sitting at a table overlooking Broad Walk watching the world go by. If you are visiting Buxton, this must be the place to stay.

Room Tip: Decide whether you want a room overlooking Broad Walk, as not all do.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

this was our umpteenth visit to Victorian guest house and the warmth of the welcome is as cheerful and friendly as always ...everyone is made to feel part of the family...nothing is too much trouble ...true 5 star rating.....dietary needs / preferred times for breakfast and access needs ....all are never a problem...the rooms are all different themes are attractive , not to mention large !! the attention to detail / quality is immediately noticeable as each room is stunning...the breakfast..!! oh the breakfasts...wow ...local produce / organic / quality / choices/ and so much ...fantastic....the private carepark and quiet location , not to mention prime site are the iceing on the cake...heres to next time..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed for two nights while we explored the Buxton area for the first time. This guesthouse was just great; good food, great comfort . The breakfasts were excellent with many options available. Our room was very comfortable with v good tea/coffee tray etc. Alan and Barbara did a splendid job here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews