We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
84
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed for two nights while we explored the Buxton area for the first time. This guesthouse was just great; good food, great comfort . The breakfasts were excellent with many options available. Our room was very comfortable with v good tea/coffee tray etc. Alan and Barbara did a splendid job here.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent Guest House, in every way. The welcome, location, building and decor, bedroom, and the genuine service from Alan and Barbara. Stayed in various places over the years, for value for money must say this is the best place i have ever stayed. Nice additional touches are tea/coffee on arrival, choc mini eggs and sherry in the room, and the time taken to explain about Buxton when we arrived. Would go again, however i dont think i need to as we are going to move to the area!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fussybugger1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We really cant't understand the last review (must be the sort of people who just like to complain about nothing all the time). We've been to Buxton on many occasions and once we found The Victorian Guest House we really will not go anywhere else now. From the minute you arrive to the time you leave its better than any 5* hotel. Barbara & Alan are the nicest people you could wish to meet and they always bend over backwards to make your stay the best. The tea & biscuits on arrival are always appreciated after a long journey (and I'm sure you would pay extra for this in other establishments) The breakfasts that Alan prepares are delicious, the dining room is so friendly as you can all sit and chat and Barbara is never far away with her cheery smile. The rooms are delightful with different decor in each we have seen them all by now!....The location right on the Broadwalk by the park could not be better for the Pavilion Gardens, the Opera House and the town. We definately look forward to visiting in the near future again. Thanks again Barbara & Alan for all you do.

Room tip: Any room is beautiful but rooms 1 & 2 look out over the beautiful Pavilion Gardens
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamHH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, 27/28 sept. Reviews led us to believe that this guesthouse would be quite special, I'm sorry to say that it's not! Cleanliness etc is not an issue. We stayed in room 3, we thought the room was quite small which wasn't helped by too much other furniture, which made getting from bed to bathroom something of an assault course! The bathroom, although very nice, was far too big for the size of the room. The shower head could not be raised, I'm only 5'7" and had to duck down and there was no grab rail for when in the shower. The breakfast was excellent but almost everyone sitting round one table seemed a bit odd! The one table for two seemed to be reserved for repeat guests or so it seemed. Lovely location overlooking Pavillion Gardens.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a great stay at the Victorian. Barbara and Alan were very welcoming. We loved the tea and biscuits on arrival (just what we needed) and they also took the time to chat to us about the local area.

The bedroom was charming, clean and quiet, with a really comfortable bed. We also loved the complimentary sherry in the room, a really nice touch. The breakfast was also wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elski201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews