We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch spot”

The Refreshment Room
Ranked #14 of 19 Quick Bites in Buxton
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Description: The Refreshment Room is a cafe based in a former railway building on Miller's Dale Station along the Monsal Trail. The Cafe menu offers a taste of the Peak District with a selection of hot homemade dishes including Peak District Burger, homemade soups, sandwiches, salads, lighter bites, homemade cakes, freshly ground coffees and loose leaf local teas. We also offer takeaway food.
Restaurant details
Description: The Refreshment Room is a cafe based in a former railway building on Miller's Dale Station along the Monsal Trail. The Cafe menu offers a taste of the Peak District with a selection of hot homemade dishes including Peak District Burger, homemade soups, sandwiches, salads, lighter bites, homemade cakes, freshly ground coffees and loose leaf local teas. We also offer takeaway food.
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

This is a really great place to stop for hot drinks and a warming snack after a long walk on a cold day. The service was very nice, and I’m surprised to read in earlier reviews that some people had thought the service was rude. It was very welcome to find that the cafe was very warm and the radiators were hot; it meant I could get my wet gear dry!
Obviously seating is quite limited at the present time, though there are lots of picnic benches outside where it would be nice to sit on a warm day.
I had a delicious soup and sandwich, though the paninis caused me a bit of food envy!

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Peakgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2020

Looking for somewhere to have a quick bite today. Pouring with rain and many places closed, we phoned ahead to The Refreshment Room. Very polite from the word go. Table was reserved. Arrived in the pouring rain. Felt very safe from Covid point of view, lots of safety precautions in place. Staff were very friendly from the outset. We had a simple lunch - warming soup and scrambled eggs on toast. Very tasty coffee too. So glad to see this place up and running. Last time I visited for a cycle down the Monsal Trail, it was a closed up building with an ice cream van in the carpark. Lovely to see it made into so much more. Will definitely visit again, hopefully in the sunshine next time!

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wanderer586588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

I would advise to perhaps stop for a hot drink etc somewhere else. A staff member was not very accommodating on the verge of being very extremely rude not just to us but other customers too ( shocking )

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Sophyleephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

This cafe is situated in the old station nearer the Buxton end of the Monsal Trail although there is also a cafe on site. Good lunch options and very nice.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

Visited today. (23rd October)
We were a party of 6. The children had kids meals, sausage chips and beans, excellent value for money and clean plates too!
I had the goats cheese panini, it was absolutely delicious ! My husband had a Derbyshire beef burger that looked amazing! He assured me it tasted as good as it looked.
Staff were extremely helpful and polite, even guiding us on a great walk around Chee dale, the lady that recommended the walk was extremely knowledgeable of the local area so we were really quite grateful.
All in all a lovely experience. Oh and the homemade cakes were tasty too. Can’t wait to visit again. Thank you.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Patricia_micheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our Cafe and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Refreshment Room also viewed

Flagg, Peak District National Park
 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Refreshment Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.