We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy cakes and good coffee”

The Refreshment Room
Ranked #14 of 19 Quick Bites in Buxton
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Description: The Refreshment Room is a cafe based in a former railway building on Miller's Dale Station along the Monsal Trail. The Cafe menu offers a taste of the Peak District with a selection of hot homemade dishes including Peak District Burger, homemade soups, sandwiches, salads, lighter bites, homemade cakes, freshly ground coffees and loose leaf local teas. We also offer takeaway food.
Restaurant details
Description: The Refreshment Room is a cafe based in a former railway building on Miller's Dale Station along the Monsal Trail. The Cafe menu offers a taste of the Peak District with a selection of hot homemade dishes including Peak District Burger, homemade soups, sandwiches, salads, lighter bites, homemade cakes, freshly ground coffees and loose leaf local teas. We also offer takeaway food.
Reviewed 14 July 2019

Called in last week when on a bike ride. Friendly staff, lovely coffee, even do decaf. Cakes were gorgeous. Prices OK especially for size of cake. Quick service to table outside. Enjoyed it so much, recommended to friends while out walking in the area today and we popped in for ice cream. We'll back on our next bike ride, thank you.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachbade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Thank you for your review, we’re really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

Great service from the young man on the counter on the morning of Sunday 30 June. Orders quickly brought out to our table with a happy caring attitude. Thank you.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank JP070766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our cafe. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we will make sure that your comments are passed on to the staff who were working on Sunday morning. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2019

Many items had run out with the staff commenting it wasn't their fault. Prices higher than they should be.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Scrummicake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2019

We’re very sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good experience at our Cafe. We will be looking into what happened to make sure this doesn’t happen again. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2019 via mobile

Good stop off while cycling the Monsal trail. Converted railway station right on the track. Toilets, cakes and coffee. What more do you need?

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Slam1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2019

I was amazed by the quality of the various lovely leaves in the salad and the length of the queue to get served, but this place has value and quality nailed. The decor inside is creative. Tables have names not numbers. Staff are heroic in the face of the deluge of hungry customers, their appetites sharpened by their various outdoor activities along the stunning Monsal Trail. An impressive little cafe and brilliant location.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vintagesiren88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Thank you for your review. We work hard to serve fresh, local food and are really pleased you enjoyed it! We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Refreshment Room also viewed

Flagg, Peak District National Park
 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Refreshment Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.