We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Toilets with a view.”

High Peak Bookstore and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 19 Quick Bites in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Set in the beautiful Peak District countryside, 2 miles south of the historic spa town of Buxton, High Peak Bookstore and Café is a great place to relax and spend time with family and friends. In our café we serve local freshly-ground coffee and an excellent range of loose-leaf teas, as well as breakfast, brunch, lunch, light bites, cakes and snacks. There is plenty of choice for vegans and vegetarians and we offer many gluten-free options. In our spacious bookstore 99% of our books are half price or less and we have an extensive and eclectic range of genres, including a dedicated children's room and a wide range of local area interest books. We also sell traditional and contemporary greeting cards, a large range of jigsaws, crafts and gifts, CDs and even food, feeders and nesting boxes for our feathered friends. We have a large, free car park and we welcome dogs throughout the bookstore and café with well-behaved owners. We also have regular events, please check our social media.
Restaurant details
Description: Set in the beautiful Peak District countryside, 2 miles south of the historic spa town of Buxton, High Peak Bookstore and Café is a great place to relax and spend time with family and friends. In our café we serve local freshly-ground coffee and an excellent range of loose-leaf teas, as well as breakfast, brunch, lunch, light bites, cakes and snacks. There is plenty of choice for vegans and vegetarians and we offer many gluten-free options. In our spacious bookstore 99% of our books are half price or less and we have an extensive and eclectic range of genres, including a dedicated children's room and a wide range of local area interest books. We also sell traditional and contemporary greeting cards, a large range of jigsaws, crafts and gifts, CDs and even food, feeders and nesting boxes for our feathered friends. We have a large, free car park and we welcome dogs throughout the bookstore and café with well-behaved owners. We also have regular events, please check our social media.
Reviewed 16 December 2020

Cafe closed due to covid restrictions. It is a few years since we last visited and is now much larger with some beautiful craft items as well as books. Visited the toilets aaand they are amazing! Is there still a loo of the year award because they need to be nominated.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2020

I went to buy a few books before second lock down and there was a huge variety. After doing my shopping I decided to have lunch in the cafe, the 3 bean chilli with melted cheese topped nachos were gorgeous, also the latte was lovely too. The covid measures were excellent and I felt very confident whilst eating my meal. I would very highly recommend this little gem, and I will be calling again very soon.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank follower11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BookstoreBrierlowBar, General Manager at High Peak Bookstore and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review...we really appreciate you taking the time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

Possibly my favourite cafe, with a great ambience, very friendly staff, and super food. I love the references to the fact that it was a garage many years ago. Well organised for social-distancing, hand sanitation etc. It sits very well with the wonderful High Peak Bookstore to which it's attached, and a visit to the two makes a great day out, a real treat.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BookstoreBrierlowBar, General Manager at High Peak Bookstore and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2020

What a lovely review Lorraine...thank you so much, we really appreciate your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

Once again a lovely bookshop, With loads of different books. Came out with arms full of books and bits. Will of course be back next time we past.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Resort608999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BookstoreBrierlowBar, General Manager at High Peak Bookstore and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020

Great food and a friendly efficient service. A really good choice of vegan/vegetarian food and the gluten free cake is a huge bonus. there were 3 choices of GF cake and that's not something you see at most cafe/restaurants. Plus the oat milk latte is gorgeous here. The best tasting dairy free coffee I've had in the whole area. This place was recommended to me last month and I have been 3 times since then. I definitely recommend it!

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ladythatlunches6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BookstoreBrierlowBar, General Manager at High Peak Bookstore and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

What a wonderful review! Thank you so very much, it means a lot to us, especially at the moment when things are rather stressful and everything keeps changing. We hope you keep visiting us until AC (after Covid) as we’re even better then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Peak Bookstore and Cafe also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to High Peak Bookstore and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.