We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Stars B&B(Hay-on-Wye)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Black Lion(Hay-on-Wye)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilverts Hotel(Hay-on-Wye)
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhydspence Inn(Whitney-on-Wye)
US$157
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
US$204
US$186
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
194
167
83
60
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
167
83
60
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelfront of houseno liftbreakfast roomcooked breakfastpiping hotblue boargarden roombeautiful towncouple of nightsstayed here for one nightfollowing morningsunday lunchlovely gardencoach housebreakfast was excellentcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

In the area to look at a second hand car yesterday, and on recommendation of the seller we tried here for Sunday lunch.
Obviously we didn’t book but we were greeted in a welcoming and friendly manner and seated in the attractive dining room.
Great service and equally great food. We all chose Roast Beef and it was all beautifully cooked and presented. To die for roast potatoes and fresh vegetables and beautiful Yorkshire Pudding, simple but just as it should be.
My wife struggled to eat all of her beef, 2 thick large carved slices, and the waiter had no hesitation in parcelling it up as a doggie bag for our Westie back home. Even this was done in style, the tin foil shaped into a swan, nice touch.
I’d love to say we’ll be back again, but it’s more than a 2 hour drive, so sadly not on our local list of venues. However if we are close by we’d have no hesitation in making a return visit.
Thank you to everyone at The Swan.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Bin-The-L-Plates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanathay123, General Manager at The Swan at Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent lunch experience at The Swan. The team are working really hard to deliver great food and professional service and positive feedback such as this will give everyone a boost. Sorry you aren't local to us but please feel free to drop by anytime you are in the area.

Kindest regards,
Adrian Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Stayed on Saturday 17 February for one night on a Travelzoo 3 course dinner bed and breakfast (£129) deal. From the moment we checked into the hotel, the staff could not have been more friendly, accommodating and efficient. We were shown to our superior room which was beautifully furnished and looked out onto a quiet side road. The ensuite was spotlessly clean, with a bath with shower over (the shower was one of the best I've used in a hotel). The hotel itself is very quaint, has been recently refurbished to a very tasteful standard. There is a formal restaurant, the Garden Room, which is absolutely beautiful and looks out on to a walled garden. There are also two more informal eating areas and the hotel bar which has an open fire, although unfortunately this was not lit during our stay. We booked a table for dinner in the Garden Room for 7pm, and lucky we did as every table was taken. The waitress service was impeccable, we didn't have to wait for drinks or food at all. Food was cooked to perfection and was delicious. My only slight gripe was that the menu is quite limited, (in fact the Travelzoo site had misleadingly implied that for a supplement you could choose from other items such as scallops or fillet steak, when neither of these were available). But this didn't spoil our enjoyment of the meal. Following dinner, we opted not to drink in the hotel bar, although we would have done had the fire been lit, and chose to have drinks in the Blue Boar opposite, which had a roaring fire and was very cozy. The next morning, after a very comfortable night, we ate breakfast in the Garden Room. Again, the service was fantastic. Unlimited tea, coffee and toast was served to our table. A selection of fruit, cereal, yogurts and pastries were available for self selection, and then a choice of cooked breakfast was cooked to order and served to our table. We both opted for the Welsh cooked breakfast and I have to say that it was the best hotel cooked breakfast I have ever tasted. Thank you so much to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanathay123, General Manager at The Swan at Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you so much Julia for such a fantastic review of your stay at The Swan. The entire team will be delighted with such positive feedback! Sorry about the log fire though. Come back to Hay soon!

Kindest regards,
Adrian Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

I was in a party of 7 who booked for lunch for a friends birthday. We decided to eat in the bar and 5 of us chose the mussels from the specials board while another had ham, eggs and chips, and another opted for the burger.
All the food was delicious and the service was very good and friendly. We had bought a plain cake and the chef personalised it for us and presented it on a silver salver and decorated it with edible flowers. We were surprised and delighted that we were not charged for this! Now that is service!
It was a shame that the bar was empty, but being a Monday, we expected it not to be busy. Come on locals, give it a try, you will not be disappointed and will receive great food, delicious wines and friendly attentive service.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank barbaramyoung46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanathay123, General Manager at The Swan at Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks for your fab comments following your lunch here.It was a pleasure serving such a happy party. And yes, to the local people of Hay and beyond, please come and visit us again. We've got a really passionate team of chefs and front of house staff that would love to share the varied great food and wine. Many thanks for your custom. All the best.
Kind regards,
Adrian Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We have just returned home after a 4 night stay at the swan at hay.

It was our first holiday with our new dog everybody at the hotel put us at ease and made the short stay very enjoyable.

We found every member of staff very helpful throughout our stay and we will be recommending the swan to all our friends and family.


Thanks again for all staff for making our stay so enjoyable

Adam nicky and Marley

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank adam6270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanathay123, General Manager at The Swan at Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

It was a pleasure to welcome both you and Marley to The Swan and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. She is a fabulous dog and hope you will all return to us soon.

Kindest regards,
Adrian Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We parked in the car park opposite as the hotel car park was full.
On arrival we were welcomed at the reception, check is was good. A little over enthusiastic,(not going to deter enthusiasm) it was good guiding us to our room however we found the actual guide of the room itself a bit overkill. Room was tiny, walk around the bed style with folding wall table. We had booked a larger room for the weekend before however due to situation we had to transfer our booking to the following Saturday, so I guess rather than forfeit the bill this was a compromise. Room was clean, bathroom very clean. Bedside lamp was hanging off the wall. Room looked over the side road which had minimal traffic noise. Nice biscuits in room, one round of coffee and tea.
Bed was comfy.
Downstairs both bars were empty, self explanatory due to time of year, some background music may have helped the atmosphere for such a large empty space and a lit fire. The bar prices are steep here, better and cheaper range of drinks/ beer/ale down the road. On return from our evening meal out we had 2 Baileys which came to around £9.
A good nights sleep.
At Breakfast, the room is very nice, big windows looking onto the grounds however music was now playing rather than in the bar area in the evening. Tinie Tempah is a bit much on a Sunday morning with your coffee. I went for the full breakfast. Poached egg was slightly watery, so I left it. I should have said something however I did not want to wait as I had already had to wait for the brown sauce to arrive and did not want the rest to go cold. The same happened to the table opposite us. My wife was happy with hers. We do not think this breakfast warranted £15 per head.
We checked out and left having had an ok satisfactory stay however we did not feel the hotel warranted the price we paid.
Nice hotel, good location for town, a little toppy for what it is. Could focus on the finer details.

Room Tip: choose a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Darryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanathay123, General Manager at The Swan at Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thanks for taking the time to give us honest feedback on your stay. You make some very valid points which will be addressed with the team here. I am only sorry we weren't able to rectify them at the time.

Kind regards,
Adrian Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews