We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
220
172
84
60
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
172
84
60
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel car park front of house cooked breakfast piping hot beautiful town breakfast room couple of nights coach house garden room blue boar following morning stayed here for one night sunday lunch lovely garden breakfast was excellent comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Family visit waited 20 mins for service to deliver drinks first waitress very pleasant the ndiwn ill after that starter advertised as "smoked salmon beetroot and passion fruit "now you would have thought when it says smoked salmon you would not to get smoked salmon parrot but that's what we got and not very nice I asked them why did the menu not say this and was told it's just the menu tells you what it is oh no it doesn't, to be fair I didn't have to pay for it , after starters the staff disappeared and it was ages before they came back for our main order and even longer to bring it . One of the part asked for tomato sauce but had finished his meal by the time it came, another ordered chips with their
Meal and again had just about finished it when the waiter said the chips will it be long ( laughs all around) as there was no staff around I had to go into the kit hen to get someone. It's not as if it was busy as we were the only people in the hotel there were two people in the bar it they left as there was no staff around.probably the worst see ice I have ever had
, even had to ask for the bill before we had dressert as we knew it would take them ages .over all would not go back for a meal a pint in the garden would be nice but double your order as getting served the second time may make you late for supper. Staff pleasant just very slow,food not brilliant either better places in hay on Wye. Try the three tuns

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tynemouth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swanathay123, Manager at The Swan at Hay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Hi Tynemouth1,

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us on your last visit, let me assure you that this isn't the norm for us. The way our menu is written sometimes just states the main elements of a dish, I understand that this time this was not for you and understandably we took it off the bill for you.

Apologies again for not meeting the standards you were expecting, we hope that you will give us another try and we will ensure to surmount your expectations.

Kind Regards
Emma Crosby
Restaurant Manager
The Swan At Hay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We visited for a long weekend and found the hotel very good overall. Staff are very helpful. We had a superior double room and couldn't complain. The room was spacious and bed extremely comfortable. Ensuite also roomy and good specification.
Note no lift in this hotel so mobility an issue for some. Car park quite small. Breakfast was very good quality and delicious. Paid 105 pounds per night for the room which I thought was very reasonable. Would recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank StuartJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The rooms are good size, comfortable beds, and helpful staff. Not a lot of people staying here which is a bit strange. I opted for the tasting meal at dinner. It was very good (small portions as you'd expect but very flavorful and multiple textures), but it took two hours - even though I was the only one in the restaurant. Restaurant was open to the garden which is good, but also open to a ton of flies that sat on the ceiling above me and buzzed around the windows - but oddly enough didn't bother me (polite flys?). Very good breakfast included. Short walking distance to all shops yet far enough to avoid the noisy parts.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

The room was really nice with a lovely view clean and well furnished the bathroom was nice and the complimentary toiletries were good. The bed was the best and most comfortable we had all week in b abd bs. The restaurant missing a bit of ambiance, the food was good but evening menu extremely limited. Breakfast was good and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Good place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicoleandadamgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Decided to try the swan for lunch
Sat in the beautiful garden which were wonderfully manicured.
Food was excellent and service was warm and friendly.
Will definitely return and will recommend to friends and family

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sqib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews