We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I'd say it's like a home from home but I'd be...”
other travellers have booked this property
A wood burner warms this spacious lounge which dates back to the 1550's
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A wood burner warms this spacious lounge which dates back to the 1550's
The super king-size bed sits centre stage in this light and airy master bedroom. Relax on the chaise lounge that folds out into a comfortable double bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
A wood burner warms this spacious lounge which dates back to the 1550's
The super king-size bed sits centre stage in this light and airy master bedroom.
Relax on the chaise lounge that folds out into a comfortable double bed
SIt and read or watch the world go by in our original sixties hanging chair.
The super king-size bed sits centre stage in this light and airy master bedroom.
Super deep three seat sofa will help you unwind.
Cook with local produce sourced from our local independent stores.
Light and airy, clean and well equipped kitchen retains an original cottage feel.
Attention to detail helps make your stay an interesting one.
Antique romantic cabinet over the stairs leading to the kitchen.
Cosy up in the winter months with our wood burning stove.
The cabinet contains essential oil bottles sourced in the local market.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
annan115
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'd say it's like a home from home but I'd be lying - it's SO much better than that.”
Reviewed 13 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This was the most lovely place to stay. I have never stayed anywhere that felt so stylish and so very comfortable. From the huge bath with piping hot water, to the enormous bed, wood-burning stove and cosy sofa, this was the perfect base to go exploring in the Black Mountains while still having all the convenience of Hay right on the doorstep (quite literally). The owner even met us to give us the keys and a basket of kindling that he had just chopped for us. Everything about The Pavement Palace worked for me, it felt a bit like being allowed to stay in one of those beautiful houses you see in Elle Decoration, didn't want to leave and have to come back to real life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most comfortable bed in the world.
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind comments.
James
The Pavement Palace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIGFOOT33...
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you want to stay in Hay - Stay Here!”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Four of us had a few days in Hay and went against our normal form by picking somewhere in the centre of town rather than our usual rural location. As with all of Hay parking is not great but we had no trouble as we tended to be out and about by 10 before the dreaded uniforms could arrive. Also wouldn't recommend if you are disabled as it's on two levels. Booked the deal through TripAdvisor as opposed to direct and all went fine. Panicked a bit when I read the full details as I worried it wouldn't sleep 4 of us (2 couples) but rang James the owner and was reassured. Sure enough a giant bed was matched by another double put up in the lounge (unobtrusively) and the place was kitted out way above the norm. Supplies in the kitchen, fuel for the fire, great central heating and every mod con, even towels laid on. WiFi was spot on as was TV. Can't recommend too highly and the best compliment is to say if I ever stay in Hay again - I'll stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owner who was most helpful plus great location
Liked least: Traffic wardens
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Palace on a Pavement!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Its truly fabulous and so quirky. Design, location, cleanliness and cosy. I took my niece for a couple of days pony trekking in the black mountains and together with the wonderful town of Hay and the accommodation we did not want for a thing. With the log burner glowing and piping hot water was just perfect and the sofa is large enough to accommodate a family and so is the luxurious bed!!!! Crisp white cotton sheets and a mattress to sink into and the cutest loo in a cupboard in the bedroom,brilliant! The kitchen is fantastically equipped and there is even a washing machine and tumble dryer. The Pavement Palace has not missed a single detail, its absolutely perfect and there is no need to take any domestic bits n bobs, its all there. Do try it, you will not be disappointed, we certainly were not. The name Pavement Palace describes this accommodation perfectly. Thank you Pavement Palace.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icniVaD
icniVaD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, beautiful space, everything one could ever want”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for one night in December with my partner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back without hesitation, hopefully for longer next time. The flat is very old and has a lot of rustic charm, and is very comfortable, spacious and warm. The space is absolutely beautiful, especially when the lights are dimmed and the log burning stove lit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing comfort, in a beautiful and charming old house. Great atmosphere. Wonderful location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grannyBir...
birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious but cosy and sumptuous !”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I enjoyed being in this charming accommodation, it is such an attractive retreat, full of character !
In the heart of the town I found it so easy to go out to explore and discover I enjoyed the Book and gift shops. Then, on returning to such a warm and comfortable place to make a meal and spend the evening really is treat. Lovely kitchen and log burner !
I am looking forward to returning with plans to use as a base for walking in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its comfort and quality
Liked least: My stay was too short !
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing