We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for non-golfers too....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Had a one night stay here and thoroughly enjoyed it

Room was good size and had a nice view overlooking part of the golf course (practice area?)

Staff were approachable and informative and suggested walk around the course to village which we did and really enjoyed - found a nice pub en route where we booked dinner.

Breakfast was plentiful with good choices and service

Would stay again in similar circumstances - overnight on way to North Wales - and pricing was good

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Definitely5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

I am not a fan of golf resort hotels. They have a certain atmosphere - "bit blokey". So I had lowish expectations for this stay. I work near Cardiff and have been aware of the hotel for a while. On this occasion, I needed to overnight just off the M4, and rates here were under £100 b&b - making it not much more than a motel.

It justifies the premium. The old building is pretty, and the reception area is very luxurious. It steps down a notch for the rooms, but they were in standard Marriott format and condition. It is definitely worth detouring a few minutes over the options closer to the motorway.

Good points:
- breakfast was very good, with eggs cooked to order, and plenty of options
- food in the Zest restaurant was good quality
- staff were warm

Improve
- prices were a bit high in the restaurants. You are captive... They add service and then ask for a gratuity which is a pet peeve anywhere and very unusual in Wales.
- the stairway from reception to the newer block rooms is very grotty, with a dirty carpet. A bad impression as you move from reception to your room. It does improve again.

I imagine that their staple business is meetings, wedding and golf weekends. It is a bit blokey (lots of huge beer glasses around) and golf orientated (various parking spaces are reserved for the captains etc). However, I would happily stay again. The midweek rates are very reasonable for everything on offer

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

I spent one night here with family to celebrate an anniversary. The hotel is a little way from Chepstow's town centre and so would not be convenient for those without cars. The upside of this is a relatively peaceful location so long as you can avoid packs of men in fancy dress talking and laughing loudly. Generally, we were not affected by this.

The main buildings are historic and therefore the rooms come with the charms and downsides of single glazed windows, creaky floorboards and poor sound insulation. The decoration also looks like something from the set of a 1970s soap opera. Someone here loves mustard. All that aside, though, the rooms are clean, well furnished and comfortable. The bed and pillows were great. The temperature seemed a bit too hot. It felt like the heating was on, which was unnecessary.

I loved the breakfast. There was a good choice. I also thoroughly enjoyed using the leisure facilities. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi were great fun. All in all, we had a pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank stanlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Our 2 night stay here started well as we were upgraded to a Lakeside room which was away from the main hotel. The room itself was quiet and comfortable and we had a patio area overlooking the lake and golf course. We were grateful for being able to park outside our room as the hotel was very busy and there was no space in the main car park. We booked for dinner in Zest both nights as Morgans was fully booked on the Friday. Dinner the first night was enjoyable with good service.
Friday morning things started to go downhill. We waited some time to be seated for breakfast as all the staff in the restaurant seemed to disappear, a common feature in the hotel's restaurants it turned out. That evening Zest was busy including one large and particularly noisy group but this was not a major issue as we were seated at the opposite end of the restaurant. The service was non-existent. After waiting 20 minutes to place an order we had to attract the attention of a member of staff. I should point out that we were not hidden away in the corner but just a few paces from the waiter's station. The meals arrived after about 30 mins but we considered this acceptable. Food was okay although my steak had a large piece of fat and gristle that had not been trimmed. It was clear that the staff were struggling and someone from the Trophy Bar was brought in to help. After a short time he seemed to be the only member of staff left in the restaurant who was doing any work. After we had finished our meal we waited 30 minutes for our plates to be cleared at which point I tried to find a member of staff. As there did not appear to be anyone around I went to reception to speak to a manager. In reception and the small lounge area there was a group of 20-30 drunk men, one attempting to play the piano whilst a few others were singing/shouting at the top of their voices. On approaching the desk one receptionist was trying to take a phone call with one finger stuck in his ear and a woman trying to check in had to shout at the other receptionist in order to make herself heard. Frankly, had that been me I would have been on the phone trying to find somewhere else to stay. I spoke to the manager on duty who promised to investigate, although I don't have much faith that he did. After all, he did not ask the loud group to quieten things down even though we were finding it very difficult to have a conversation and his reception staff could not do their job properly. I'm sure many of the diners in Morgans would have been able to hear them too.
We were compensated for the inconvenience but we shall not be staying here again.
To end on a positive note I would like to thank Kirsty on reception for her helpfulness and efficiency, she is a credit to the hotel which is more than can be said for a large number of their staff.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms away from main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gadabouts95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, Front Office Manager at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for the review of your recent visit to Marriott St Pierre, it is disappointing to learn that certain aspects of your stay certainly fell below the standard of experience we would expect to deliver. Please accept sincere apologies and I will be investigating, in detail, all of your valuable feedback to ensure this type of experience is not repeated. I can assure you the relevant improvements will be made moving forward and I hope to have an opportunity to restore your faith in St Pierre in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Visited as couples for golf tour. The hotel was over run by men on golf tour. There were 5 ladies in the dining room amongst over 100 rowdy men. The noise level was so loud we had to be moved so as we could hear. Food very sub standard for 4 * hotel. Had to pre order for the evening meal. Beds were too small although very clean. Breakfast good. Old course is the best by far. Don't expect anything from the half way hut if you tee off at lunchtime, service very bad and only had crisps/chocolate available.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank leacha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottStPierre, Customer Care at St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your golf with us on the championship Old Course. I was however concerned to read of the disturbance you experienced by other guests and that you felt let down by the standard of food served to you. Please be assured that all your feedback will be taken on board to ensure that improvements are put into place promptly and permanently.
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to St Pierre again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chepstow
4 km away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
15.5 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
4 km away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
9.8 km away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
17.7 km away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: St. Pierre Park, Chepstow NP16 6YA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chepstow
Price Range: €77 - €211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views, 400 acres of picturesque parkland and a stunning 14th century manor, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club is an idyllic retreat. Our resort, set in the rolling hills of South Wales, features the perfect blend of ancient architecture and modern amenities. Our elegant rooms offer luxury bedding, dedicated work space and 24-hour room service. A dream-like getaway for the body and soul, St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club offers a fitness club, tennis courts and outdoor activities set within the rolling Welsh countryside. Enjoy the summer days overlooking our ornamental lake or while away a winter's evening resting by spectacular log fires. When ready to dine, choose from the oak-paneled, traditional Morgans Restaurant or the contemporary Zest Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott St. Pierre Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Chepstow
Chepstow Marriott
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing