We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
87
188
152
65
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
188
152
65
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews david urquhart clyde view coach driver bus trip entertainment every night three courses coach holiday excellent value for money bit dated long weekend some tlc staff were excellent visited this hotel a wee bit tea and coffee first class porridge
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We read a lot about this hotel on tripadvisor over the preceding months, so knew we would be in for a less than satisfactory experience. Driving south through Dunoon, it looms large on the hillside and from a distance we were still hoping that Morag herself
had sprinkled some fairy dust from the Fairy Glen that had resulted in a massive refurbishment. We were staying with our Mod choir, so were still trying to stay in positive mode. Dream on..!

From the moment we arrived at the foot of the drive, the picture started to emerge of a highly neglected property; the shabby, peeling boundary walls and tired signage, the appaling pot-holed, rutted, loose driveway, made even more hazardous by the steep incline that leads to a hotel that is no longer fit for purpose and whose management need
to totally re-think what it is about. On arriving at the actual car park area on the south-side of the hotel, there is no adequate turning area and later we realise there is no flood lightning. A pile of discarded bed divans and function chairs looms at the far end, perhaps evidence of the much mooted "on-going refurbishment" in the management responses that we had read many times before arriving at this dreadful moment. A much needed moment of levity comes upon us though, as we read the weary sign that tells us not to park on the drive as it prevents buses from moving freely up and down. Well, the car park itself is full and we value the use of our ankles too much to park at the foot and walk back up.

On entering the hotel, there is a terrible, musty, dank smell that in fact is everywhere in the public areas. We present ourselves to a less than enthusiastic reception; no warm welcome, no offer to help carry our bags and a vague, unhelpful response to our question. To cap it all; our room key attached to a horrible, multi-pack, plastic key fob; that's right the kind you might expect in a youth hostel or for a church cupboard, not a 160 pounds per night B and B hotel (at least that is what we paid in advance).

As we made our way with trepidation to our room, the tired, Addams Family mansion interior is really grating now like ghostly fingers scraping down a wall. The room is miserable and cold, so on with the electric one, the broken control valve on the radiator so not much confidence about it working properly, two tiny single beds with thin, worn out bedding, no hairdryer (borrow one from reception apparently), grimy shower cabinet, toilet, fittings and the piece de resistance; a view of the back of the hotel that can only be described as grim by any standards. We head out, as we have matters to attend to in town, but look into the dismally dated dining room to read over the menu. No great surprise to see that the usual, more than likely frozen suspects are present; mushroom stroganoff and cod in parsley butter. It is maybe a taste thing on our part, but combined with the dreary boarding house atmosphere we were soon heading off to eat in one of the numerous decent alternatives in town.

We returned briefly to return the key and its sad little fob. We enjoyed a vastly superior hotel along the road for over 30 pounds per night less. We are now trying to discuss our dissatisfaction with David Urquhart Travel, the owners of The Glenmorag, but to no avail thus far. Please DUT, let's have a chat about the problems at this hotel. We feel that we wasted a lot of money here and feel strongly that no one else should be in that position. Unless Morag's fairy dust is particularly plentiful and effective we will not be returning.










Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank 470robinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

A wee coach trip to dunoon. Hotel was very welcoming room nice and warm. Meals were OK. Staff were very nice. The only fault I had was the television so small and old fashioned. Was like a portable TV.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rebecca01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear rebecca01_11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay, rest assured the TV's are in the process of being upgraded.

Kind Regards



Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Faded splendour . Nice public rooms. Set in own grounds just outside town. £4.40 taxi ride from central bus stances. Twenty or so minute walk along the lovely promenade into town but the steep walk up to the hotel isn't an easy one (Oxygen masks please. ) Rooms are basic but clean. Take your own toiletries and hairdryer. Free wifi in public areas but doesn't work in rooms. We had a bath. Hot water was boiling but the cold tap didn't work!!! That was problematic.We had a Wowcher deal for one night with DB&B and a bottle of wine for £59 so very good value indeed. Food was very good and substantial portions . There was a large coach tour in but dinner and breakfast were served quickly, piping hot and attentively by the excellent, efficient and very pleasant waiting staff. As a veggie I got veggie sausages for breakfast ( doesn't happen often and no long wait. Well done.) Room 78 didn't have a river view but corner room with two windows and lovely autumnal trees outside both.This hotel does not deserve the poor reviews. They are trying hard to please and we enjoyed our short stay.

Room tip: River views are nice .We could hear entertainment slightly from room 78 but it didn't disturb or go on late.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annebryceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear annebryceland,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, I will take on boards your comments to ensure no issues for future guests.

I do hope we see you again in the future.

Kind Regards


Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

I was there for a week. Upsides - a decent mattress to the bed, even if it was a twin room, rather than a double as requested. Hot water was hot. The staff are absolutely fantastic - what a shame they have to work there. The breakfast arrives very quickly. The room was clean, if not serviced daily.

And that's pretty much it. A very down-at-heel property, shadow of its former self, spent too many years as a bus tour stop-off with minimum spend. The rooms are very tired - no hairdryer (although you can get one from reception), ancient telly with three and a half channels, and wifi that doesn't extend to the bedrooms from reception. And they were absolutely roasting - couldn't regulate the radiator unless someone came up from reception with pliers, and the window had to be wide open for our entire stay. Screaming 80s decor everywhere. Bathroom with 3D mastic that would have ashamed the worst DIYer and a bath side-panel that was never in any universe going to meet the rest of the bath. Tiny car park with only one entrance, leaving it prone to being blocked by buses or deliveries. Very (very!) steep driveway up to the hotel from the main road, with no night-time lighting and deep potholes at the edges of that driveway - dinna walk up there in the dark. There's a lift, but if you have access issues, don't think for a minute that's going to make things any easier for you in this warren of a place. And it's Brakes Brothers central - school dinners quality dining room. Had I needed anything more than a place to lay my head as I was flat out working all week, I would have been well cheesed off at anyone paying these kinds of prices for having me stay there. I love Dunoon, especially the people, and I know the hotels have to work hard to keep going, but having been here many times over the past fifteen years or so, this was definitely the worst it's been. Best avoided until there's proper investment in bringing it somewhere back into the world of acceptable.

Room tip: Just don't.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aryhoulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear Aryhoulan,

I am pleased to hear you had a good nights sleep and found the staff fantastic.

The hotel is in need of refurbishment and we are working on that seven rooms have now been decorated, the tvs are being replaced as are the beds and mattresses unfortunately this all takes time but we are working as quickly as we can to improve the hotel for our guests.

Kind Regards


Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

We travelled to Dunoon for the National Mod as my 7year old daughter was taking part, arrived at the hotel were we found the staff very friendly and welcoming, lovely room with sea views , beds were spotless as was onsuite bathroom, granted floors were a bit squeakie but that’s part of the character of a old building, breakfast was fab & staff were very helpful , chef asked my daughter what she would like for evening meal so they could prepare. Would like to thank all at the hotel for making us feel welcome and look forward to our next visit !!!

Room tip: Rooms with a sea view
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marieclaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S, General Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2018

Dear Marieclaire M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am delighted to hear you had a great time and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards


Debbie Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews