We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$130
CheapTicketsUS$130
TravelocityUS$130
Orbitz.comUS$130
TripadvisorUS$130
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
96
23
9
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
96
23
9
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table by the window log fire stunning views roast beef owners and staff short break pete clyde binoculars conservatory porpoises pint
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2021

This place is a gem. Beautifully and sympathetically refurbished, the hosts Peter, Elliott & staff offer superb and welcoming service. The food is top notch, the best of ingredients cooked to perfection. I'm looking forward to going back there soon.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANC250Kilmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

We decided to visit the Osborne for Saturday lunch and we were not dissspointed. We were given a really warm welcome and shown to our table by the window by the really friendly waitress. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and my husband said it was one of the best curries he's ever had. The tables are socially distanced with screens inbetween and sanitizer provided,and all staff wearing masks. Give yourself a wee treat and visit the Osborne you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marion a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2020

We are frequent visitors to the Cowal Peninsula, and are always looking for restaurants serving good food. The Osborne is definitely one of our favourites (we have not stayed in the hotel, but eat there when we can; our most recent visit being in October 2020). The service and generally friendly demeanour of the owners and staff are always positive; you are always made welcome.

The food is wholesome, tasty and enjoyable. Favourites include the steaks, often with an excellent peppercorn sauce, and battered langoustines (which are absolutely delicious!). Deserts are also good. Prices for food, including drinks, are reasonable and compare well with other outlets in the area.

The ambience is set by the friendly, welcoming staff and the views across the Clyde from the conservatory dining room. Prior to the coronavirus restrictions the hotel provided numerous binoculars with which to watch seals, porpoises, sea birds and, of course, ships. Hopefully they will reinstate the binoculars once life returns to 'normal'. In good weather it is also possible to sit outside, taking in the fresh, sea air.

If there's one criticism in respect of the ambience it is that some of the paintings on display are often of questionable merit and do little to enhance the overall atmosphere. What might be more appropriate if original and quality artwork is unavailable would be copies of historic photographs of the Clyde and surrounding area. Completely filling the wall spaces with tastefully framed photographic prints would add interest and a sense of history relative to the location. Considering the Clyde's rich heritage in terms of shipbuilding, yachting and engineering, etc, such a permanent exhibition could become a major attraction. It would certainly add interest.

The Osborne is unpretentious; it is not trying to be something it isn't. This is to their credit, and why we give it five stars. We will return!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Service
1  Thank Tain1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2020

Extremely pleased with the Osborne Hotel. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful view over the Clyde. Staff very friendly and most helpful. Made us feel very welcome. The meals were plentiful and absolutely delicious, couldn't fault the cuisine at all. Would defiantly recommend a visit, you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P4969FQirened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2020

I had lunch here last Monday with my work friends & young daughter. Amazing food made even better with being part of the eat out to help out government scheme, i couldn't believe how cheap our bill was for the quality of food and service we had received. We felt so safe with great covid measures and social distancing. The lovely lady who served us we recognised from Livingstons, so friendly and kind! I also had a fantastic birthday dinner here a couple of years ago with all my family. Nice to see the place is still doing a great job. Gorgeous views. We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank cw562019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews