We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$118
Hotels.comUS$118
eDreamsUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
Orbitz.comUS$118
CheapTicketsUS$118
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,165)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
610
302
111
64
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
610
302
111
64
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murder mystery tower room both nights four poster bed sea view couldn't do enough evening meal many thanks sea front lovely view rio weekend entertainment break clyde scotland courses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Booked a table for 7pm on Saturday night. Arrived and were given menus by a very rude waitress. We ordered drinks - a cider & a beer and also asked to see the cocktail menu. We asked for an old fashioned and the waitresses response was "an old fashioned what?" so we ordered a tequila sunrise and a daiquiri. The waitress brought out 2 pints to us and I asked to send one back as I ordered a cider, not a beer. She disappeared and didn't come back for about 20 minutes - with a cocktail for me instead of a pint. When we mentioned this she said "just f***ing take it" which I get is meant as a bit of cheeky banter but I mean come on. We ordered food - including 2 rare steaks, one with peppercorn sauce. When the food arrived the sauce was missing and the steaks were like the rubber soles of old boots. We didn't bother mentioning this but one of our friends meals was missed completely from the order. We were told by the waitress "oh sorry the kitchen didn't get the order so it'll be out in a few minutes". About 20 minutes later the salmon arrived and it was not that appetising with rock hard vegetables. We spoke to the manager who said she was aware of our issues and would give us money off but when the bill arrived nothing was deducted. When we mentioned this the waitress very rudely said "why? What was wrong?" no apology or anything. We were given a discount which was amazing and the waitress said "not bad eh, one forgotten meal and a discount like that!" her attitude was just not great. We couldn't wait to get out of there! We went up to the Lorne for drinks and had a great time, the staff were so polite and friendly it was worlds apart. The manager at the Argyll was really helpful but it didn't help how unenjoyable the experience was so we won't be back any time soon!!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank emma01041992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Good afternoon

I'd like to thank you for your time in reviewing your recent visit with us.

We have taken this feedback very seriously and Management will undergo a full staff evaluation and review. This is definitely not the standard that we all work so hard to achieve for our patrons. We completely agree that that the staff member in question should have handled the situation much better. Please be assured that this not a true representation of our company standard and apologise profusely for all that you encountered while with us.

I am pleased to see that you were given a goodwill discount and I do hope it took the edge of such a disappointing meal.

I do hope that you will return in the future to allow us to provide you with a higher level of service that we know we can achieve.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Went in on Saturday night.. booked a table which was fine we got the cocktail menu which had 6 a good wee selection. The bartender came to our table and explained she was making them and asked which cocktails we wanted. I asked if she knows how to make a pornstar martini and her response was " no I can't be bothered ". I've worked in a bar and I would have NEVER said that to a customer. She could have easily said " we don't have the ingredients " or " we simply aren't allowed" worst customer service I've ever had. Never going back

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank preciousr780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Good morning

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review after your visit with us over the weekend.

I would like to apologise on behalf of all the team for the service you encountered over the weekend.

SGE thrive to exceed our guest’s expectations and we are dedicated in doing so. The feedback we received from you in regards to the conduct of our staff is not acceptable and nor one we take pride in. Please be assured that we have taken your comments very seriously and full retraining is being carried out.

I do hope you do come back one day in the future and allow us to provide you with the first class service we know we can give.

Kind regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021

We used to come here regularly before the pandemic and always found both the service and the food to be excellent. Things have changed, and not for the better. The blonde female managing their outside seating area couldn’t seat us as they were full, which is fine of course we said that we could wait until a table became free, she couldn’t be more dismissive and rude, it felt like she was essentially telling us to get lost. We instead went inside to get a meal where the servers attitude wasn’t much better than the previous person we had spoken to. We have a 1 year old and at no point were we offered a high chair. The quality of the food was fine, the prices seem to have increased, I dont feel the value for money was there. Such a shame as we used to love coming here. Also the usual snack menu offering the items we usually love is no longer available. Avoid!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 374jonnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Good morning

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review after you recent visit to us.

We have more than half a dozen high chairs available throughout the hotel. We are sorry that you weren't offered one, however if you had asked any member of our team we would have gladly supplied you with one. Moving forward we shall carry out retraining with our staff to make sure they are offered in the future to customers.

We have costed our menus to make them very affordable and as a company have taken extreme measures to not put the price increases onto the customer. Whilst we come out of the pandemic we have reverted to a limited menu which is reviewed regularly. We will look forward in increasing our menu range in due course.

We do wish you had approached our Duty Manager at the time of your visit. They are available throughout the day and evening and are always happy to help and rectify any issues that may arise.

We thank you for your review again.

Kind regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

Just had a beautiful meal here 10 out of 10
Staff where so friendly and helpful nothing was too much will definitely come back great prices for food and drink also place was spotless too recommend the curry

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Good morning

Thank you so much for such a lovely review after you recent visit to us.

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave you feedback and i am delighted that you enjoyed it so much. I will be sure to pass on all your kind comments.

I do hope to welcome you back to eat with us again in the near future.

Kind regards



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Argyll Hote is one of the great hotels as far as I have ever stayed, they have a very beautiful room well decorated. the rooms were clean, they have very nice and friendly staff, and the location of the hotel is also very great.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Odyssey344009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sher Gill, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Good afternoon

Thank you so much for such a glowing review after you recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking your time to let us know how well it all went.

We pride ourselves on offering a 5 star customer service experience and i am thrilled to see that we achieved this for you. I will be sure to let all the relevant departments know of your kind words.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon, in the meantime please stay safe.

Warm wishes

Argyll Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews