We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
109
35
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
35
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view a pet friendly hotel great britain upstairs lounge leave the car breakfast was delicious residents lounge september weekend sea front great sleep scottish breakfast great hosts west coast of scotland top floor lovely location last minute booking would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Really enjoyed our stay at the St Ives. Lovely well appointed room, and comfortable beds. Jon is an excellent host, and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast choice is superb-lots of choice-with something for all tastes, we particularly enjoyed the smoked salmon and eggs. The hotel is right on the sea front and has fantastic views out across the firth. If you need a base for exploring the beautiful Cowal peninsula we would highly recommend. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We booked the St Ives because we were looking for dog friendly accommodation not too far from Glasgow. From before our arrival, Jon and Katia were extremely helpful and communicative. They even provided us with a dog cage for our 2 small dogs. We had the family room at the top of the hotel with a king size bed and a sofa bed for our two girls. The room was lovely and very well appointed. The breakfast in the morning was just superb with locally sourced salmon and eggs along with an abundance of fresh fruits, cereals, meats, cheese etc. Katia's cooking is stunning. Jon was always very chatty and we loved hearing about their move from London to Dunoon. The location of the St Ives is perfect, right on the sea front. It was wonderful being able to wake up and take the dogs for their morning walk on the beach. The locals out walking their dogs are all super friendly too and loved having a wee chat. The beach has the most wonderful stones that our girls loved collecting and decorating with markers. We even made one for Jon & Katia that made it into the display cabinet on the ground floor. The St Ives is a wonderful B&B with the most gracious hosts. A truly fabulous gem and would definitely go back! Thank you Jon & Katia for everything.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sherpa259867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We chose this hotel at short notice, as the first stop on a trip to Scotlands west coast, and we couldn't have made a better choice. Great location on the Promenade, so a short walk into town. Parking was just outside.
The room we had booked didn't have a sea view, but when we arrived Jon said he had a proposition for us, and moved us to a sea view room(at no extra cost) The hotel has just been refurbished, an our room was beautiful. with stunning views across the Firth of Clyde.
We had Dinner in the hotel, and it was excellent.
This is a great place, and Jon & Katia are thoughtful hosts

Room Tip: Go for sea view if possible
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moido_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

This property has been refurbished to an excellent standard. We stayed in ‘Bute ‘ on top floor (lots of steps!!) we had a great sea view, coordinating furnishings, very comfortable king size bed. Excellent bathroom,if a bit on the small side, but super shower and hot water. We really enjoyed The tassimo coffee machine in our room, and Jon the owner happily refilled the pods on request. We booked dinner on the first night, which was freshly cooked, very tasty and well presented. It came as 2 courses with a bottle of wine, for £29 each so was a bit pricey. The bar was well stocked. Breakfast was one of the best we’ve had in a while, fresh local produce and well cooked. I had the porridge which was delicious, and a huge bowl ful. Jon our host was always evident in the property, happy to help with anything, shame we didn’t meet Katia his partner. The property has a very comfortable residents lounge, which made up for not having comfortable chairs in the bedroom. Dogs are welcome, and the 3 that were staying there same time as us did not cause us any problems. The property is well situated for easy access to the town centre and directly opposite the beach. Parking is good outside, but it’s a bit difficult to find at first, lots of one way narrow streets. We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Top floor room,Bute, offers great sea views. Don’t think there are any ground floor rooms, so not sure about disability access.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

I cannot express how much of a fabulous time we had at St Ives Hotel in Dunoon. Jon and Katia's warmth and hospitality completely made our trip - not only were they perfectly attentive and went the extra mile to make us comfortable, but their charm and humour made us feel so welcome and you can really tell how much they love their hotel, looking after guests and making the whole experience something special. There are so many extra little touches that make this place feel like being spoilt by a family member! The rooms are GLEAMING - and I mean completely sparkling! I've never stayed in a room of this nature with such a high standard of comfort and hygiene. The location is to die for - incredible views, wonderful fresh air and so many things locally to see and do (Inverary Castle and Portavadie we highly recommend!) The perfectly Scottish 'wee' breakfasts were simply delicious and we could overhear other guests each morning all sharing the same compliments, not only on the fantastic food but also the friendly morning chats in the dining room with Jon and Katia. A couple of times we sat out on the terrace area outside which was lovely on a sunny evening, then later enjoyed the cosy guest living room with it's gigantic windows overlooking the bay. Thank you Jon and Katia, your hotel rocks - this is definitely our new home-from-home and we are already planning our next visit! :)

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia S, Owner at The St Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Clair

Thank you so much for taking the time to write up such an amazing and detailed review! Your kind words remind us exactly why we came here to Dunoon and give us confidence and faith to continue to grow. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope to see you again very soon. And bring your parents!

Love
Jon and Katia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews