We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
170
214
143
65
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
214
143
65
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view leas cliff hall old victorian staying at this hotel parking permit pleasant stay lovely hotel nice breakfast an update superior room comfy bed evening meal tea and coffee bw armchairs receptionist refurbishment
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Fantastic location. Sea view from our room.
Room old fashioned but clean and comfortable
Lovely breakfast unfortunately the waiter serving it was rude and abrupt to everyone.
Parking permit was issued for only £2.00 but it was not easy to find a space.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Stayed for one night. Parking was, get what you can as the hotel has no allocated parking. The roads have parking spaces but if you arrive after 6pm it's very much pot luck.
The rooms are ok but ours on the four floor left us with carrying luggage along corridors up steps to a room in corner in the roof.
I cannot comment on food or bar service as we did,nt try what was on offer.
The hotel is situated in a grand area but lacks modern amenities and falls short on basic up to date standards.
No ones fault it's just an old hotel that has'nt had the investment to bring it to modern standards.
Could be great but needs a lot of cash spending and I think that that's not going to happen.
Shop around there's better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Booked for one night as usual hotel was fully booked. Reception staff are very pleasant and helpful, shame that you haver to pay for parking, although £2 for 24 hours is very cheap. Everywhere smells a bit dusty and levels of housekeeping are poor, lots of dust on banisters, mouldings, ledges etc in public areas. Layout of rooms is very strange with stairs hidden behind doors that say keep locked and as others have said the lift is tiny and wouldn't want to be claustrophobic. The room kept up the dated appearance of rest of hotel, bathroom was cramped and rather dark and windows don't open. On the positive side the bed was extremely comfortable, the linen was crisp and clean and there was a fan in the room already, which was good as this was a very hot weekend. Given that we paid less money for a room in a boutique B&B nearby and that there's a boutique hotel opening in a few months just around the corner, they really need to up their game and lower their prices.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

The trouble with Best Western is you never know what you are going to get!
The Lift is incredible, i would hate to have 2 people in it at once who do not know each other!
Room was ok, shower was rubbish, very small shower head and not great pressure and took 10 minutes to "warm" up to tepid.

Breakfast was the killer for me - I entered the dining room and waited to be seated, a younger waiter spotted me from the other side of the room and said "You can sit over here" just as an older waiter who was taking orders from a nearby table said "SIT THERE!" pointing to a different table, as i wavered between tables he again went "SIT THERE!" I sat down and he said, "Are you on your own?" I replied "Yes" he said "Well if it gets busy you will have to share your table." Well pardon me for staying in the hotel on business on my own!
There was no menu to choose from so i plumped for a safe guess of Full English, it arrived, sausage passable, mushrooms black as the ace of spades and I swear the bacon "Oinked" at me it was so underdone. Toast was delivered and most of it made it on to the table, the floor saved the rest! Probably a good job as it had only been worried by the toaster, I swear you could have left it in the sun and it would have been toasted more.

All in all, my company paid for the stay but if I had paid, I wouldnt have been happy.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drkisskiss1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed here 1 night - and would happily stay again if in town.

Service was excellent - on arrival i discovered i had booked the following night, a potential disaster. Instead i was greeted with a friendly sense of calm, and it was sorted without any drama. Phew

The hotel itself is a traditional older british seaside hotel, with sloping floors and corridors resembling a maze. But the room was spacious, bed was clean and comfortable and bathroom was spacious and clean. Slight criticism was shower was old design and not overly powerful.

The bar had feeling of a pub, and enjoyed few quiet drinks.

The english breakfast was cooked to order and was a good start to the day.

Even without the excellent service saving a near disaster would still recommend hotel and met our expectations and needs

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave_W806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews