We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
55
35
9
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
35
9
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wisteria cottage commercial kitchen roaring log fire road noise dunster castle homely feel thoroughly enjoyed our stay steam railway birthday weekend the ground floor coach house lounge dishwasher pub curtains ensuite bath
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Hired the Dragon House and the attached Wisteria Cottage for the weekend for 40th Birthday celebrations with family and friends.
The Dragon House exceeded our expectations - the bar area was well used and had the benefits of still having the taps for beer (which the owners can arrange for you) and the optics for spirits as well as the roaring log fire. The dining room is very spatious and was plenty for our group size (17) and has a large gas fire. The catering kitchen is as everyone else has said a bonus - there is a under counter and a full industrial size fridge plus an industrial size freezer and cooker.
All the rooms are en-suite with either a bath, shower or both.
The gardens are well kept and we even made use of the patio area as we had glorious weather on the Saturday!!
The owners are on hand for any problems (we had a slight snag with fused lights - easily and quickly rectified by the owner).
The property is also in easy reach of Minehead, Dunster Castle and the steam railway.
Overall the Dragon House is quirky in places (but it is a listed coach house) but a real gem and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ElaineS955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Stayed end of November- 18 adults and 3 children for a 80th birthday reunion.
This venue is perfect to cater for large parties- the commercial kitchen is fantastic, well equipped and clean. The bar being left in the house is a nice touch- we made use of that. The open fires give it a really homely feel and despite the size of the building it felt cosy.
We also used the cottage out in the garden and the two story garden rooms which were both added extras.
The garden is very nice, a little play area in the top part for children which luckily we could make use off.
The rooms are a little dated as expected with an older property. The furnishings are old and used but in keeping with the building.
Each room is en-suite and private. There is a games room on the top floor, 2 large dining rooms and a large lounge.
Overall we couldn't of been happier with this holiday rental and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Great venue for a big friends and family get together. Pub was brilliant and the hotel really big and quirky. All the rooms were great and en suite. Highly recommend and will be booking again in the future.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bow H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

There were 13 adults and 2 children for a week at Dragon House. We stayed there from 23rd June until 30th June. The rooms were lovely, each with a shower or bath. The garden was really nice and our little granddaughter fell in love with the Wendy House.
The kitchen was very well equipped with plenty of pots and pans, and a plate warmer.
The lounge was comfortable and the dining room was very spacious.
The house was atmospheric and we never felt on top of each other.
We loved it and would definitely go back. Highly recommended.

Room tip: This is self catering and not a hotel.
Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

This Grade II listed building used to be run as an hotel. The owners had the clever idea of renting it out as holiday accommodation - leaving the commercial kitchen and bar in situ. The owner is very welcoming and lives further up the drive - so he can be called if there are any problems. He cheerfully supplied logs (free of charge) for the fire, and topped up the initial supply.
Brilliant!
Our group of 16 set up in the bar every night. For the first time in living memory, we didn't go to a pub. Why would we bother with such a great bar of our own? Let me make it clear - this is not the horrible "bar" that some hotels have - this is an old proper pub type room with a great log fire.
The cooks in the party very much enjoyed playing chef in the professional kitchen.
I had feared that the rooms might be a bit sad - but they were all generously sized and smartly decorated. I suppose that each room could be further improved, but then there is a risk that there would be a loss of character (the whole property is a typical English country home) - and a huge price hike.
This place represents fantastic value for money.
I was worried that there were only a few TripAdvisor reviews - and not all of them were glowing. The guest book at Dragon House tells a different story. There are very frequent entries (the rentals must be good) and the comments are all 5 star.
Wholeheartedly recommended. I do hope the business continues to be successful, because we want to go back.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews