We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I left my heart there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Convento de Alpendurada
Reviewed 20 April 2016

A beautiful place, old as the hills, soulful Fado music and good food. The wine was pretty good as well. The atmosphere was enchanting with the essence of everything a traveler would wish for in the exploration of this lovely little country. I need to go back and rescue my heart

Room Tip: Take warm clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garethman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2016

This is a review both of the hotel and the restaurant in its basement since we were there with a group of about 100 from a Viking River cruise on the Douro River. First, the hotel is high on a hill a distance from the river. It's a former convent that has been turned into a hotel, so it is very large and has a special atmosphere. The monks' rooms have been enlarged and I understand they are quite nice, though the cost is quite low--some where around $65 a night. Amazing for the type of facility this is. YOu enter through various reception rooms decorated in 18th-19th century décor. We were met by the "Countess" who owned the place in the 19th century. We were then ushered through several rooms and downstairs to a set of large dining rooms near the outside cloister.

Dinner was served mostly by the Viking dining staff, since this was an arranged meal, and we were entertained by a fado singer. Since this was all Viking-arranged, I can't say what the restaurant might actually serve, if it even does anything but breakfast for guests. But the atmosphere was wonderful.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Quite an extensive monistary of the Benedictine monks from the 11th century. Well restored in 19th century design. Quiet and peaceful worth a stop. Went at night while raining so the view was limited
Today it is a hotel but we were on a tour and did not sleep on the hotel

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bear H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We went to the restored monastery as a special dinner event for a Viking cruise. Going in November, we arrived at night. So the area around and view from the monastery were not of any value. We were greeted by a "countess" impersonator who gave us a little background. After meandering many long hallways we made to the dining hall. Dinner consisted of a soup, roast pork or hake fish, and dessert was a creme brulee. The soup was decent. Both the fish and pork were over-cooked and not very tasty. The creme brulee was worthless, a watery custard mess. Clearly the worst meal of our whole trip.

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank hhrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We visited as part of a cruise tour organised by Amawaterways.
We wouldn't mind staying for a night or two in the hotel.
Grounds and the restored monastery all look in great condition.
Reception of the 100+ group was weel organised.
Dinner was, as can be expected for such a large group, not great but not bad at all.
Overall a pleasant dinner experience.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpendurada e Matos
19.4 km away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
458 reviews
16.9 km away
Hotel S. Pedro
Hotel S. Pedro
#1 of 2 in Arouca
118 reviews
24.6 km away
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 km away
Douro Park Hotel & SPA
Douro Park Hotel & SPA
#1 of 1 in Resende
74 reviews
29.2 km away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
17.6 km away
Hotel Rural Quinta de Novais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento de Alpendurada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento de Alpendurada

Address: Lugar do Mosteiro | Alpendurada e Matos, Alpendurada e Matos 4575-059, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Alpendurada e Matos
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alpendurada e Matos
Hotel Class:4 star — Convento de Alpendurada 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Convento de Alpendurada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing