We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
23
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
23
12
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2016

This is a review both of the hotel and the restaurant in its basement since we were there with a group of about 100 from a Viking River cruise on the Douro River. First, the hotel is high on a hill a distance from the river. It's a former convent that has been turned into a hotel, so it is very large and has a special atmosphere. The monks' rooms have been enlarged and I understand they are quite nice, though the cost is quite low--some where around $65 a night. Amazing for the type of facility this is. YOu enter through various reception rooms decorated in 18th-19th century décor. We were met by the "Countess" who owned the place in the 19th century. We were then ushered through several rooms and downstairs to a set of large dining rooms near the outside cloister.

Dinner was served mostly by the Viking dining staff, since this was an arranged meal, and we were entertained by a fado singer. Since this was all Viking-arranged, I can't say what the restaurant might actually serve, if it even does anything but breakfast for guests. But the atmosphere was wonderful.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank cfuller603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Quite an extensive monistary of the Benedictine monks from the 11th century. Well restored in 19th century design. Quiet and peaceful worth a stop. Went at night while raining so the view was limited
Today it is a hotel but we were on a tour and did not sleep on the hotel

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bear H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We went to the restored monastery as a special dinner event for a Viking cruise. Going in November, we arrived at night. So the area around and view from the monastery were not of any value. We were greeted by a "countess" impersonator who gave us a little background. After meandering many long hallways we made to the dining hall. Dinner consisted of a soup, roast pork or hake fish, and dessert was a creme brulee. The soup was decent. Both the fish and pork were over-cooked and not very tasty. The creme brulee was worthless, a watery custard mess. Clearly the worst meal of our whole trip.

Stayed: November 2015
2  Thank hhrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

We visited as part of a cruise tour organised by Amawaterways.
We wouldn't mind staying for a night or two in the hotel.
Grounds and the restored monastery all look in great condition.
Reception of the 100+ group was weel organised.
Dinner was, as can be expected for such a large group, not great but not bad at all.
Overall a pleasant dinner experience.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We also visited this venue on a Viking Cruise.

The building is spectacular and the views over the Duoro are to die for.

However, the catering for our 100+ people left a lot to be desired.

The soup was bland and the pork of the main course was dry (needed some apple sauce).

There was a long gap between soup and main when we could have had the Fado show, but instead we had to wait until after desert before we could see the show.

Nice to visit but don't bother with the dinner

Room Tip: We had a look in one of the rooms and it looked very like you would expect a nun or monk to sleep in. Not for me
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews