We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
117
113
72
37
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
113
72
37
24
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely looking hotel... We stayed here when we visited highclaire castle... The hotel is under goin major work... No bar or food on the evening but breakfast was ok... Our room over looked the river and was nice inside however the shower didnt work propperlly... It either burnt your skin or was freezing... For £50 b&b it was ok and even supplied a gluten free breakfast option for my coeliac partner.. if the work gets done id imagine it would be a lovely hotel with lovely grounds...

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sheldont-hx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We stayed here overnight before going to Highclere Castle. We thought it was a very good deal at £70 for a superior room including full breakfast but we then realised why. We were advised that there was no restaurant open in the evening so that wasn't an issue but we were late arriving and tried to phone the hotel to tell them - no-one answered! Eventually we got an answer and on arrival we were directed to our room (The Penthouse). Very nice big room but had a strange menthol smell. Also very hot as it it up in the roof. The room and hotel are extremely tired but they are doing a total renovation shortly and that is why rooms are so cheap at the moment (plus the fact that there's no restaurant or bar). The hotel is a fair way out of the town but there are a couple of 'Sizzler' type pub restaurants close by.
However, and it's a big however, we couldn't get any hot water for a shower or wash and when we went down for breakfast, the menu looked great but there was very little available. For example, if you wanted cereal, it was coco pops or nothing. The cooked breakfast was fine but I felt sorry for the couple of young lads who were serving as they were run off their feet and trying to do their best (and they were really polite).
The hotel is obviously just running on a skeleton staff to bring in some money while they wait for the renovation and when we said that we weren't happy, they immediately offered a partial refund but I'd rather have had hot water and a nice breakfast. On the plus side, the free wifi was excellent.
It will be a stunning place when the renovation is complete but meanwhile, it was quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Went with my girfriend to my friends wedding evening reception. It's in a great position and lovely grounds but what a disaster inside! Only one man on the bar all night!!! While other staff stood behind the bar doing nothing and when asked they told us they're not allowed to help and nothing to do with them being under age either. Everyone felt really sorry for him trying his hardest. At one stage we had to wait 35mins to get served. Now on a wedding evening do it should be better organised and staffed especially as you charge way over the top for drinks!!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank STEVEN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Hotel set in lovely grounds and backing onto a river. Hotel was clean and extremely good value. Unfortunately there was no restaurant due to ongoing refurbishment works. We had a very good meal in Newbury at the Cote Brasserie which was a 9 minute drive to the town. Breakfast was average and buffet style but acceptable especially given the room price of £70 for a double which included breakfast. Free wifi was a bonus and easily accessible. Would definitely stay there again. Also an ideal base if you are visiting Highclere Castle.

Room Tip: One overlooking the river would be nice.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night, whilst in the area for work. Breakfast was fantastic, and there was hot chocolate in the room for those who don't drink tea/coffee which needs to be done in more places!

I was given a twin room which was tired looking, the door on the bedside table was only on one hinge and there was no door handles to open the wardrobe...bit of a tricky one if staying any length of time.

Staff were friendly and courteous though

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank J0nP90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews