We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We booked this hotel at the last minute. Very friendly and helpful receptionist. Free parking outside hotel which is about 100 yards from a lovely view from South Cliff to the main part of Scarborough. Very clean hotel with a good-sized room. Reasonable bar prices. Great to have waiter service at breakfast. 10 to 15 minute stroll into town.

Room Tip: Can't really help - we booked late and knew we would have a room at the rear of the hotel. No no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night lovely hotel with stunning views of the sea.
Large room with classic furnishing , large comfortable bed .
Good sized bathroom with well fitted bathroom full bath and over shower , one caution very hot heated towel rail children would have to be careful not to touch .large wardrobe dressing table and t v .
Plenty of tea and coffee available in the room , we didn't use any of the spa facilities as only staying one night .
Breakfast was tasty and good portions , this was served to your table.
The hotel is situated at the top a hill and access is via some steep steps from the sea front .
I think there was an alternative route up towards the hotel which maybe suitable for those with mobility problems .
Overall a good hotel pleasant stay .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hellafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Spent four days at the Red Lea in Scarborough. Room was comfortable not very large but adequate.This is situated at the top of the hill. The Spa Cliff Lift is less than 100 yards from the hotel. A real boon when coming up the hill or if it is raining. Taxis from the station to hotel or to and from the shopping centre are plentiful and costs around £5. Hotel is very friendly and food is very good. The shopping centre is within walking distance and shops all near each other.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely clean sea view room with comfy bed, toiletries, and kettle with tea and coffee, staff very friendly and polite, breakfast in the morning was served as a two course wish was lovely and tasty would defintely return without hesitation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank roco04p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I recently returned to the red Lee for the first time in about 15 years. Having visited multiple times as a child for weekends away with my family I was a little apprehensive about returning. The hotel did not disappoint and has had a lot of improvements done over the years. Some original features were still there with some he eat memories. Lovely room, great facilities and pool etc. Breakfast was OK, not the best breakfast ever but nice none the less. We will be returning again soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank C-WOODHEAD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
2.1 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
974 reviews
0.2 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
665 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,543 reviews
5.2 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: €76 - €147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing