We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location with spa facilities”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Nice hotel in a good location facing the sea. The rooms are basic but adequate. The spa facilities and pool are good and the food is lovely. We would stay here again and we have visited a few times already.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank those-uncloudy-days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Location is not too bad took us 20 minutes to walk from hotel to the centre.
Bedroom facilities not too bad, plugs near bed were in awkwards places.
Bed was extremely comfy. Room on arrival was cold but soon warmed up when we put radiator on. Damp patches are covered up by pictures / canvases / mirrors. Didnt bother me to be honest though for 1 night.
We were put on the same floor as the swimming pool whivh was ideal for our morning swim in the wonderful spa facilities (Room 5).
Staff who checked us in were helpful.
Free parking was a brilliany extra.
Would definately stay again! Cheap prices and again the spa facilities were brill!!
I'd give it another star if they offered food facilities.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank linz263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

On arriving the lady at reception was less than helpful. No information was given regarding any of the facilities.
No breakfast, room only, no running water in room, no telephone in room, no kettle in room.
We actually left the hotel quickly and only returned to sleep.
We only found out by accident when leaving there was (possibly) an area to make a coffee!!!???

On leaving, again the lady at the front desk had a problem lifting her head to acknowledge we were there!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
8  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

This could be a great hotel, but I can only assume the new owners are property developers who want to run it down so they can convert it into holiday lets...why... because this hotel does not serve ANY food, not even breakfast!! Its a shame because it has/had a good looking restaurant and a lovely breakfast room...bonkers!

Room Tip: Only stay if you do not want any breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gunner246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

Stayed here before and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time though they no longer served breakfast which is highly inconvenient as nearest cafe is a trek. A great pity as this will no doubt dissuade people from staying here without buying breakfast items to take in. This is a poor cost saving decision. Staff response: “It’s what the owners have decided to do. My response: “Do you know what the customer may decide to do?” cost £89 per room per night, no breakfast for double with view. Would be worth it with breakfast....

(hotel rating below will not populate)

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. You won’t be disappointed.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
5,007 reviews
0.6 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
0.6 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,546 reviews
1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
666 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: €28 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle. We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi and free parking permit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing