We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Spa Hotel in Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
ipswich, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smashing Spa Hotel in Scarborough”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights over Easter 2012, and had a fabulous stay! The reception staff were all very welcoming, helpful and polite at all times; offered advice on places to visit and where to eat out. The restaurant staff were equally lovely, likewise the bar staff. But the most outstanding member of staff, for us, was the lovely guy (sorry don't know his name!) who brought our room service breakfast tray up each day!Great hotel with good spa facilities and a decent little gym...would definitely return!

Room Tip: We had an automatic upgrade to a sea view.... which was lovely but it's hard to say what the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinkychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
First of all I would like to say thanks for the positive comments regarding the Crown and so pleased that you enjoyed the free room upgrade. I am sorry that you didn’t manage to get the name of the person that brought your room service but we do post customer comments on the staff notice board and I’m sure that the member of staff will know who they are.

Thanks again for a great review and it goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,403
    1,557
    559
    189
    136
See reviews for
727
3,069
144
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Yet again we have not long returned from our short stay at the Crown Spa. Have stayed there several times and would not consider staying any other place. I cannot add any other comments to my previous ones apart from the fact that we are treated like long lost friends. The staff are just so lovely. We had lunch with our son, wife a little baby Sophie and the staff gave permission for our daughter in law to go our room in order to have privacy to feed her baby. The room was fantastic as per usual, we don't care about sea views, plenty sea around the bay if we want to view it. Thanks to Lauren and the rest of the staff who made our stay yet again very special Will be back soon to see our little granddaughter Sophie

Room Tip: High rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
May I first of all say how nice it is to receive such an honest and detailed review of a customer’s stay, all too often trip advisor is used in such an inappropriate way with statements that often verge on the ridiculous.

I am delighted that your time spent with your granddaughter was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team especially Lauren.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent 3 days relaxing at this spa hotel. Really comfortable stay, the bed was lovely. The breakfast was great, with a hot dish included in the continental breakfast. Great spa facilities including pool. Staff really helpful, even provided wifi for our many mobile devices. Convinient location within short walk from town and beach (big hill!) Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliehwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
May I first of all thank you for such a positive review I am absolutely delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Crown and I speak on behalf of myself and the team when I say thank you so much for your comments.

It goes without saying that I will pass on your kind words to the staff; we endeavour to make our guests stay a pleasurable one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Me my partner and son stayed for the bank holiday, we stayed before and loved it and this time was even better as we checked out the spa and swimming pool! Everything was brilliant, clean and well managed. Lovely feel to this hotel and we shal be staying again in a month.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirisweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for what is a short but very positive review, you have said enough to let me know that you are happy which makes myself and the team happy too.

I will certainly pass on your comment to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

On arrival at the Crown Spa we were very impressed, the location is stunning with amazing views over the South Cliff and our feature room had a complimentary telescope!
The room was well equipped with little luxuries like nice toiletries and bath robes. The spa was very nice and we used it several times as well as indulging in some treatments (highly recommended). We had booked dinnner on both nights prior to arrival as we were here to relax and didn't particularly want to go very far in the evening. Sadly, as is the case with many hotels the food was poor. French onion soup was like dishwater with no crouton or cheese topping (apparently the chef was being trained?) my turbot (overcooked) with risotto and Parmesan crisp had no Parmesan crisp (I had to ask for it) my wife's rare steak was delivered medium. The bill was £70 with wine which I considered poor value. Having complained twice throughout the meal we were offered no form of recompense (even a complimentary coffee would have at least been a gesture). Based on this experience we cancelled our dinner reservation for the second night and found a wonderful fish restaurant 10 mins walk away (cafe fish) that we discovered on trip advisor also.
All in all I would recommend the Crown Spa Hotel for everything other than dinner, it could have been a one off but I did read similar from others on here.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank davidwood33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
May I first of all say thank you for a mostly positive review with regards to the hotel and the spa facilities. I do remember sitting down and chatting to you on the day of your departure and don’t remember saying that the chef on duty was in training, I may have said that there is a training issue that I need to address and since have done so.

The issues that were brought to the attention of the restaurant manager on the night were resolved and he did feel that you had left the restaurant happy. As anyone can see I do personally respond to all trip advisor posts and regrettably have to disagree that that there are similar complaints regarding food, anyone that takes the time to read through past customer feedback will be able to decide themselves if this is the case.

I do hope that you visit Scarborough again in the future and that the Crown is your choice of hotel as we are always happy to see returning guests.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.8 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
5.0 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
0.5 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
622 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,377 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing