We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply beautiful.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden party!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
garden party!
The neighbours
Jurassic coast
Local pub
Views from Stoneleigh
Neighbours
Well behaved dogs welcome!
Views from Stoneleigh
Views from Stoneleigh
Stoneleigh grounds
Sidmouth beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarah r
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My 2 teenage daughters and I enjoyed a wonderful stay here.
The cottage was beautiful and it was clear the owners had put a great deal of effort into making it comfortable, homely and welcoming. It was an absolute pleasure to spend time in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful homely decor
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for you lovely review. We'Re delighted you enjoyed your stay. I do hope we can welcome you again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for visiting the Donkey Sanctuary”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very clean and well equipped. Will certainly be visiting again.
Debbie very helpful! Easy wi-fi connection and access.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to Sidmouth and the Donkey Sanctuary.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thanks Roy for the kind words. Would love. To welcome you again! Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ednamuffi...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well this little cottage had every thing we needed. The kitchen was really well equipped and included washing up liquid, dishcloths and tea towels and everything was sparkling clean so well done to the housekeeper. The bed linen and towels were of good quality and the beds were so comfy, I had my best nights sleep that /I have had for months. The weather was dreadful but we were still able to explore the surrounding area and then come home to our warm and homely cottage near the Donkey sanctuary,
We enjoyed our stay so much that we have even looked into purchasing one of the units.
Thank you Debbie for taking our booking at such short notice, you have a lovely cottage and we can understand why people want to return.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We would love to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb L
Radstock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little place!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I don't normally leave reviews, but just had to write this one to say how lovely our weekend was at Seagull cottage! Perfectly clean and homely (I even said to hubby it felt like a home from home) with excellent housekeeping - we had a couple of notes from Housekeeping to say, "we've popped the heater on and put a bit in the electric meter for you", and, "the fitted sheet has been put on the pull down bed in case you need it, sheets and duvet in the cupboard in the bedroom" - little personal things that make all the difference! Towels, bedding and tea making bits provided(tea/coffee and little milks), tea towels, oven gloves, etc etc! We absolutely loved it and will definitely be going back for longer next time (we've suggested it to other people too!) Thank you, Debbie, for having a gorgeous little holiday hideaway x x x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 'home from home' feeling
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave after 2 days - could have stayed there longer! x x
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Deb I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and e comments you have left! I hope to be able to welcome you again! Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cosy cottage for a few days break”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Seagull cottage was just what we needed for a long weekend in Devon. The cottage itself is nicely decorated, and had everything we needed. It is relatively small, but the fold-down bed in the lounge was very comfy so only having one bedroom didn't matter. The location right next to the donkey sanctuary is very convenient in terms of navigating back to the cottage, as the sanctuary is well signed! Saying that, you do need a car, because there aren't really any shops / pubs anything else within walking distance. With a car, however, it's a lovely location, with plenty of amenities in Sidmouth and lots of lovely pebbly beaches and cliff walks nearby. We really enjoyed our stay at Seagull Cottage!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for your lovely comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you again! Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing