We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect seaside cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of York Cottage

York Cottage exterior; viewing highly recommended!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
York Cottage exterior; viewing highly recommended!
Sitting Room - York Cottage has a nautical flavour which is reflected in all the rooms Another view of the Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
York Cottage exterior; viewing highly recommended!
Sitting Room - York Cottage has a nautical flavour which is reflected in all the rooms
Another view of the Sitting Room
Dining area leading into Kitchen
Another view of the Dining area
The Kitchen
Double bedroom
Another view of the Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
The spacious bathroom
The very private and sunny patio area
Another view of the patio area
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nicola P
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside cottage”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely week in Sidmouth staying in York cottage. The cottage has been beautifully decorated and is very comfortable - a real home from home. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather the week we stayed and the little back yard was a perfect sun-trap and we ate pretty much every meal outside. Location wise the cottage is also hard to beat. The lovely high street is just a stones throw a way and it was such a treat to be able to pop out to the greengrocers, bakers etc to buy fresh produce each morning. There is also a fish shop just round the corner where they sell straight from the boats - wonderful. My son was 4 at the time we stayed and loved the fact that he could travel everywhere by scooter, there is a childrens play park nearby and of course the beautiful beach for hours of entertainment. I really can't recommend Sidmouth or York Cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda D
Pulborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage right in the centre of Sidmouth”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at York cottage with friends in January 2013 and also for Christmas 2011. It is beautifully decorated in blues and whites throughout giving it a fresh coastal feel. Despite some snow, we were warm and cosy - the beds were very comfy with good quality bed linen and mattresses. The under-floor heating in the spacious dining room was a real luxury! But what makes the cottage so special is it's proximity to everything - the seafront, the high street (many independent shops) and bakeries (warm fresh bread in the morning). The Byes, coastal walks and swimming pool are all within minutes. We parked our car up at the long stay car park or along the sea front - but we hardly needed to use it at all during our stay and it was easy to park next to the cottage for unpacking/packing. We would definitely stay at York Cottage again - and even suggested putting in an offer on the cottage!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Central position
Liked least: The front door opens directly on to the road, but it is a very quiet road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julipi201...
Ratingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments which we have managed to translate! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in York Cottage and maybe one day we'll see you in Sidmouth again....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$157
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing