We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips”

The White Horse Cafe
Ranked #9 of 12 Quick Bites in Sidmouth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 13 November 2018

Lovely traditional fish and chips, clean pleasant environment, good value, slick service. Also special deals for pensioners. And their own special and very nice mushy peas.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2018

I have been here several times with my wife on our trips down to the West Country. We always have the Pensioner Special which is great value. The fish is freshly cooked and comes with chips, mushy peas, bread and butter and a cup of tea. The staff are friendly and cheerful and the service quick and efficient.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

BRILLIANT !!! Brought a group of 21 people for a takeaway after a day at the Donkey Sanctuary with the Jumbulance Trust. The only place in Sidmouth that would stay open after 3pm for us and they were SO HELPFUL !!! Clean premises and excellent cod/haddock/chicken/sausage/cheeseburger/nuggets/chips etc - we had most things on the menu (which the very helpful staff whatsapped me before we visited). The ideal way to round our day off - back home in Wales now but wanted to give some positive feedback as they deserve it !!!! THANK YOU from the POPSY Charity

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tymandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Just fancied a proper sit down fish & chip shop and this place is spot on very clean and fresh and the batter on the fish is lovely and crispy good mug of tea too !

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank J-J6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Never had a bad meal here, always looked after, will be back very soon! Toof and the gang forever smiling

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank Paradise829088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The White Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing