We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
312
134
20
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
312
134
20
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front dog friendly hotel on arrival private car park double aspect coach trip lovely hotel would stay again limited parking single room biscuits my mother walk in shower great position dining room lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Our hosts at the Bedford guest house were warm, friendly and very helpful. Our room was spotless and decorated to a high standard, views over looking the harbour, the bed was extremely comfortable too. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dibda44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Presumably it was the time of year - early December - but I got a very good deal at the Bedford Hotel and would recommend it for many reasons. The location is right on the sea-front and I had a sea view to the beach and cliffs to the west. All staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Although I booked a single room I had a small double which was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was extremely good but unfortunately I was unable to have dinner because of a function on the one night I was hoping to eat in. Parking is limited on site although i was lucky and was able to park at the rear. Otherwise there is a large public (pay) car park immediately opposite. Although I had visited Sidmouth several times, this was my first overnight stay and, even in the depths of Winter it has a lot to offer, not least the wonderful SW coastal footpath.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Eight of us enjoyed a first class meal at The Bedford. The food was delicious and the service both friendly and attentive. Excellent steaks and fresh fish were complimented by a range of lovely vegetables.
This is a nice place to relax and be confident you'll be well looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yedmondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Fabulous Christmas break in this hotel on the sea front. Family owned and run, extremely nice staff, lovely food - well done Chef! Staff could not have been more helpful. Very nice ensuite room at the back of the hotel. Good bar age group mix, used by the locals. Dog friendly. Will be back there soon. Used private car park opposite which was nearer the hotel. THANK YOU FOR MAKING IT SUCH A LOVELY CHRISTMAS. XXX

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Another visit to this lovely Hotel , a favourite with all my family .
Everyone is made most welcome , including a genuine welcome and biscuits for our dogs . ( Some hotels do take dogs , but then do not make them welcome ).
The staff are exceptional , very attentive and caring . And all the food is excellent .
This year we stayed for the New Year celebrations and the food and entertainment was amazing . And very good value .
Rooms are comfortable and very clean . We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: This an historic Hotel , so all the rooms are charming but very different . Plenty of choice .
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EJH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews