We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
223
70
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
70
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews georgian house minute stroll sea front hotel grounds large grounds set in lovely grounds river sid riverside park four courses quality and quantity wet room traditional values cheese and biscuits traditional hotel plenty of choice first floor lovely park
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Visited third week in June and received the usual warm welcome. We have been visiting Hunters Moon for the past nine years and have always enjoyed our stay. The breakfast is excellent with a great choice and the plates are always hot which makes a change these days. The evening meal has a really good variety of different choices and, if you can manage it, there is cheese and biscuits after you have had your sweet. Plenty of coffee on a help yourself basis in the lounge. Our room had a double aspect and was very roomy. Although this room has a small shower we think it is worth it for the lovely views. Nothing is too much for the owners and all the staff are wonderful and do everything they can to meet any requests. Looking forward to our next visit. Hunters Moon is very pleasantly situated by The Byes with access from the hotel gardens, and a short stroll from the sea front. It must also be mentioned that there is plenty of room for car parking, which again is a bonus in Sidmouth.

Room Tip: Look on the website where every room and bathroom is displayed
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Superb location close to the town/sea front and a lovely shady park next to the |River \Sid.Rooms clean and comfortable and choice of dinner menu excellent.Staff can't do enough for you and real value for money in this day and age.We shall be back!

Room Tip: Room 39 overlooking the garden is recommended.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_hughes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

In the last three years we have joined the band of regular visitors to Hunter's Moon, and have stayed about eight times, most recently this June. The hotel is in an attractive building in pretty grounds, with ample parking, adjoining a park on the banks of the river Sid and about 10 minutes walk to the sea front. The rooms we have stayed in have all been clean, well decorated, confortable and with excellent ensuite facilities. There is a wide choice on the dinner menu, changing every day, and a good buffet-cum-cooked breakfast. If you want lunch in they provide soup and sandwiches. Service is particularly attentive and friendly.

There is a preponderance of elderly clients, like us, but our daughter and her children enjoyed a stay. There is no lift to the first and second floor rooms. This is not a luxury or trendy hotel offering what is now called 'fine dining', and has no pretensions in that direction, but is not, in our experience, to be beaten for a combination of comfort, reliability, friendliness and value for money

Room Tip: shows rooms on website
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeremyrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Lovely room overlooking the park. Room spotlessly clean. The only problem was that the bath was not wide enough when used as a shower. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

This was our second year staying at Hunters Moon. We had a spacious room with a balcony over looking the garden which we were able to enjoy due to the good weather . The hotel is spotlessly clean and all of the staff are helpful and friendly. One of the highlights of our stay was the varied and excellent dinner menu with good quality food on offer and plenty of it.

Room Tip: some rooms have a wet room for disabled users
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews