We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon”
Review of Canoe Trail

Canoe Trail
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy an authentic rural adventure on our beautiful rivers. After a little bank tuition,hop in one of Canadian Canoes or kayaks and paddle your way through stunning countryside, for a half, full or two day adventure.Pack a picnic,pack the dog, bring the kids and enjoy your day.Relax by camping at our private woodland on the water, unwind around the campfire with only the starry skies above you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely afternoon with gentle paddle along the Ouse. We did the trip to Cardington and back which was relaxed pace but still lots of wildlife to see and time for a quick drink at the Barns if you wanted, or visit to the town bits of the river (pretend you’re doing slalom racing where the poles are hanging down was good fun). Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great for a different day out in Bedford.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Polly1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild camping"
in 7 reviews
"double kayak"
in 6 reviews
"paddle boarding"
in 7 reviews
"the river"
in 56 reviews
"day trip"
in 6 reviews
"overnight camp"
in 3 reviews
"dry bags"
in 3 reviews
"late october"
in 2 reviews
"stand up paddle"
in 2 reviews
"explained everything"
in 4 reviews
"local company"
in 2 reviews
"clear instructions"
in 2 reviews
"great instructor"
in 2 reviews
"young farmers"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful stretch"
in 2 reviews
"perfect antidote"
in 2 reviews
"loch ness"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

This was our second trip with Canoe Trail. Trip was a full day paddle but still allowed time for brunch at The Longholme cafe and Tea and cake at Danish Camp. We saw many Herons and Kingfishers during the journey. We particularly enjoyed the mix between countryside and Bedford Town.
Excellent communication and easy to book.
Definitely recommend Canoe Trail and this particular trip.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 324luisaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

I booked a last minute canoe hire for my 13 year old niece, my husband and I to do something fun, interesting and different during the summer holidays. It cost £70 to hire a 3 man canoe for 4 hours and it was wonderful. We had an absolutely fantastic half day. the instructions were clear, the map waterproof and useful and collection from the end point prompt, efficient and friendly.
I would wholeheartedly recommend Canoe Trail for anything water related but especially canoeing. It was great to see Bedford and the locality from a different point of view and lovely to meet such informative, friendly, efficient professionals who clearly love their work.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Newbridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

A fantastic day with all the family! The staff were experienced, helpful and very friendly! They were patient and determined that everyone had a great day!!! We certainly had a brilliant time, my sons achieved things I wouldn’t have believed!!!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ToniJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely morning paddle boarding on the river. Lovely, quiet route, even the bit through Bedford, with lots of wildlife to see. It was easy to book via the website and the joining instructions were comprehensive. There was decent equipment and after a brief briefing and instruction we were let loose even though I’d never done it before. It doesn’t take long to get the hang of. The only improvement would be to make the map a little more detailed with timings from certain points as it was difficult to gauge the distance and how long certain parts were. Perhaps written instructions on the back of the map could be added also as even though we were concentrating (or so we thought!) it was difficult remembering all of the information given during the briefing. Canoe Trail were very accommodating as well because we were about an hour late for our slot which they worked around. Definitely recommend and will definitely book again.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Vickypike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canoe Trail also viewed

Rushden, Northamptonshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Canoe Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing