We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
158
119
46
25
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
119
46
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river the pub no lift first floor lovely hotel town centre top floor beautiful room wonderful stay comfortable bed breakfast was excellent car park stayed here for one night yogurt premier inn ouse smarties
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for our anniversary meal. Day outside on a hot summers evening. Food and service was really good. Excellent choice on menu the place was busy and view onto the river is the best in Bedford. We finished with a bottle of English “Champagne” it was really nice.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MickV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

HI Mick V

Amazing thank you so much for this incredible review and happy belated anniversary from myself. We are overjoyed that you enjoyed your evening and you much have great taste as that English Fizz really is incredible and one of those drinks that has to be tasted to be believed.

Thank you so much again and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday evening and chose a mixture of steak from the specials board and duck from main menu between us - simply outstanding food that just melted in the mouth! Washed down with a lovely NZ Sav Blanc and v.attentive service. On the expensive side for Bedford but well worth it - highly recommend!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MnKB-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

HI MnKButt

WOW what an amazing 5 star review thank you so much. Feedback like this really does make our day and we are over the moon that you enjoyed your Wednesday Grill night with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Many thanks Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Went here for 1 night, the room was very clean as well as the bathroom. Downstairs, good restaurant and busy with people who were enjoying a drink. Breakfast was non-existing due to issue in the kitchen (?) so some cornflakes and yoghurt. This part was bit disappointing..so hope they fixed it..Rest all OK from my end.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Marcus_NL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

HI Marcus

I hope you are well and thank you so much or this great review

We really do appreciate all feedback, good and bad, as it helps us to improve and maintain on our standards.

We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay but we are extremely sorry that we were not able to offer you a cooked breakfast that morning. The Gas issue was quickly resolved that day but this should never had happened and we are very sorry

Please let me know when you are next in the area as we would love to get you breakfast on us.

Many thanks
Gemma

gemma.mallett@peachpubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This establishment never fails with the service the food and drinks and yo top it all a first class hotel. The decor is smart and classy with each room supplying u with all you require. In all the years i have visited here the stsndards have never dropped. Delicious menu with changing seasonal choices. I look forward to future events where i can attend and 4nhoy by the beautiful river setting. Well done everyone xx

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nicholak594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

HI Nichola K

I hope you are well

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review on your recent trip to the embankment.

We are delighted that you had a great time and we cant wait to see you again soon

Please ask for me at the bar as I would love to get you a drink on us to say thank you for making our day with this review

Many thanks Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We stayed at Embankment Hotel on Saturday 21st July 2018. Although the carpark was full we easily parked opposite on The Embankment, along side the river, there is pay and display until 6.00pm at 80p per half hour, so not a problem.

We received an excellent welcome to the hotel. Our room, on such a hot day had a fan running as we opened the door to cool it down. This room was at the side of the hotel, but I think there are rooms at the front which overlook the Great Ouse River and gardens opposite.

Our room was very comfortable, an excellent bathroom, with a small shower, nicely presented refreshments, well decorated and clean.

We had breakfast at the hotel, real coffee, an extensive menu which included my favourite:- mashed avocado with poached eggs on sourdough toast - delicious My husband chose eggs benedict with smoked salmon, equally delicious.

Although we did not eat a main meal at the hotel because we were attending a function elsewhere, all the meals we saw served on Saturday evening looked very tasty and were nicely presented. The selection on the menu is very good.

Every member of staff we had contact with were delightful, cheerful and fully responsive.

The entire hotel is very comfortable, well decorated and very clean. We will definately be going back there again.

Look at all the offers from the hotel for e.g. Private Dining at extremely reasonable costs, we intend to use this service for lunch meetings as it is such good value in a lovely environment.

Despite the fact that there was a wedding downstairs we noticed that the privacy door at the top of the stairs closed off any sound from below.

Room tip: If you want a river view ask for that when you book your room. We were not concerned with the view, just the comfort which we got.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma M, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

HI Jennie D

WOW thank you so much for this incredible review. It has totally made our day. We love what we do here at the Embankment and the best thanks of all comes from our amazing guests

We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you don't leave it to long before you come and see us again

Many Thanks

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews