We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

The Tavistock Pub & Carvery
Ranked #30 of 462 Restaurants in Bedford
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fresh Food served everyday, including a tradtional Carvery and full menu options including steaks, salads, pizza, pasta, burgers, BBQ ribs, traditional pub favorites like liver, bacon and onion, steak & ale pie, fish & chips, kids meals and much more. Function room available for upto 36 people free if charge. Casual atmosphere for drinking or eating. Buffet breakfast serving Bacon, eggs, sausages, hash browns, baked beans, mushrooms, black pudding, grilled tomato, toast, jam & butter, eat as much as you like for only £4.95. Full menu of hot drinks including speciality coffees. Full waiter service.
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Very cheap and as much as that is reflected in the food, the standard is more than edible. You couldn’t go anywhere else for the value on offer.

Thank MandyR596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

All wrong with this place. Morning to and to this. Foos was accettable but they say refill of veg is Free while they charge you double when you ask for the Bill. They are just a joke.

2  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaK139, Manager at The Tavistock Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi Diana,

I must say we are disappointed to see this review. Our staff are far from rude, we do not do any type of fake advertising and are very reasonably priced.

You came in on Sunday afternoon with your partner and two children and proceeded to order two children's carveries and one adult carvery. It was then explained to you by our staff, that you cannot share a carvery. It works in a similar way to a buffet with the refillable vegetables (FOR WHICH REFILLS ARE FREE OF CHARGE), but this is per person. Meat is cut once for each customer. If you went into an all you can eat buffet restaurant you couldn't just say you want to pay for one plate and share it. You took your children up again and asked for extra meat, when you are only supposed to have meat once and proceeded to eat their meat and share the vegetables with your partner, which you topped up on more than once. You clearly did not want to pay full price for your meal. We very reasonably tried to charge just for the vegetables that you and your partner ate. However you did not want to pay for the food you had already eaten. Instead you were rude, created a scene and did not pay the full amount and insisted we should call the police if we wanted you to pay. All this whilst your young children sat there. Eventually you left after not paying the full amount and you still felt the need to write a bad review on TripAdvisor.

After looking at your TripAdvisor profile and previous reviews, we can see you have done the exact same thing to another restaurant, Queens Head in Leighton Buzzard. Where you didn't order full portions and then complained about the size of the meal and left a bad review on TripAdvisor. You clearly just didn't want to pay full price for a meal and now have turned to TripAdvisor to try and harm our small, family run business. I hope other people will read this response and see what hard working, well meaning business owners have to deal with. And that the 1 star review is in no way reflective of the food and service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We’ve been for many carvery throughput Bedfordshire and Northamptonshire and we have to say this is the best around. Table service which is highly unusual for a carvery, polite, efficient, friendly service. Very generous portions of meat at the carvery and lovely fresh vegetables to accompany it. Lots of choice!!!! Desert was delicious & very large portions. Highly recommend :-) very happy and I’m hard to please!!!!

Thank Navigator371685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaK139, Manager at The Tavistock Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to greeting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Visited for a work's evening meal. Good selection of food with carvery available every day. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very reasonably priced (carvery £7.50). Everyone happy with their meals!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaK139, Manager at The Tavistock Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hi Joanna, I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We always strive to provide great food at great prices for our customers so we appreciate your feedback & will pass along your kind words along to the team. We look forward to greeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Great food & staff, and lovely atmosphere we come here very often, with friends and family, it is our favourite restaurant

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank gailmcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NitaK139, Manager at The Tavistock Pub & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hi Gail,

Thank you for the positive feedback. I hope we can continue to meet your expectations and prove with you great service and great food! We will pass along your kind words along to the team. We look forward to greeting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavistock Pub & Carvery also viewed

 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Tavistock Pub & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing