We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,831)
Filter reviews
1,830 results
Traveller rating
622
537
306
221
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
537
306
221
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea terrace bar lotus spa overlooking the river pool and jacuzzi lovely hotel wedding reception town centre car parking sunday lunch embankment megan ouse venue treatment
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 1,830 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We only visited for one night, the room itself was lovely and the staff were very friendly.
We made use of the Lotus Spa which was very nice. The Roman style pool area was small but there was a very relaxing atmosphere.
The food in the restaurant was tasty; the only downside was that there were no cocktails in the bar area.
Good location near to town and on the river.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fcsenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for your nice review following a visit. I am pleased to see you were able to relax, and that our staff were friendly. Please do visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Although it had been a number of years since we stayed at this Hotel, when the experience had been very good, we were disappointed at our recent New Years Stay. Staff were OK and although polite and friendly didn't stand out as providing excellent service. Hotel was clean but looking a bit tired in places e.g. bedrooms. Food was average but bottles of wine were expensive. At times the hotel was cold and the air con/heating in the bedroom was fiddly to use as there wasn't enough light to see the controls properly! Although booked through our tour company we had asked for a walk-in shower but this had not been allocated. Querying this at Reception we were told that even the wheelchair accessible rooms only had baths so if you are unable to climb into a high sided bath this hotel is not suitable. Nothing remarkable and wouldn't go back.

Room tip: If you have mobility difficulties ask about access.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for your review following a recent visit. I am sorry to learn of your dissapointment in relation to the property. It is nice to see our staff were polite and friendly though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We booked to have Christmas dinner and stay overnight. First of all they said they did not have our booking then after some searching found it we were directed to our clean but rather cold and dated room. When shown to our table for dinner I noted that unlike the other tables we had no table cloth it was obvious they had squeezed us in. The food was luke warm and the service erratic. This was an expensive and disappointing trip, the hotel needs updating and heating I would not rush to visit this hotel again unless big improvements were made.

Room tip: Ask to view before settling rooms to the front offer views of the river but are also close to the road
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear you were unhappy with the hotel and our service. We are disappointed to hear you do not wish to return and obviously this is not what we would wish to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Had an overnight stay here for a new year's Eve dinner dance. The hotel is in a great location and the room we had was clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities. We were impressed by the excellent friendly staff, good food and entertainment. Rather expensive "ordinary" bottles of wine at £25 but overall it was a good night. Was a bit disappointed that as a guest paying nearly £400 for the night, including drinks, that the hotel feels the need to charge £5 for overnight parking. It didn't spoil our overall impression of the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for your review following a visit to celebrate a new year! - I am pleased to see you enjoyed the experience overall. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel was dressed beautifully for the holiday season and in keeping with the grand old style of the building.
The bar and reception felt very cosy and it was pleasure to spend time there as all the staff were friendly. The guy who worked the bar on the 30th Dec ( sorry can't remember his name) was a real barman and an asset to The Swan.
However the staff working in the dining room in the morning were a disinterested bunch providing poor service and pretty low quality breakfast too and all for just under £15 per person! Very disappointing for such a lovely venue.
The room we had was right up in the roof, with sloping ceiling, wonky floors and very well decorated, we loved it!
We would stay again but would try elsewhere for breakfast.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Maruskaberuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic M, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you for your review following a recent visit. I am very disappointed to hear of your breakfast experience. This is not acceptable and certainly not our usual standard. I will be taking this up with the food and beverage manager but please accept my aploagies. I am pleased to see you were well looked after by our bar team, and that you enjoyed the property and its character. Please do return and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews