We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Carlisle(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Hall(Carlisle)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cumbria Park Hotel(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Bed & Breakfast(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
29
59
57
36
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
59
57
36
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool facilitiessauna and steam roomclean bedthe ritztrouser pressfree wifiplenty of parkingnight porterwould stay againexcellent value for moneytea and coffeedouble roomcity centreone night stayovernight stopsalmonyarn
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

My first time visiting here and the area, stayed one night for work.
first impression was Quiet and no one to greet us.
Not looked clean as in the hoover had gone round but in need of new painting and some walls marked. Bar was bright (too Bright) not like a bar i'd like to relax in.
The room was a ground floor double, ok but could have been cleaner. Radiator pics on here are very accurate window catch was a bit broken. and the window didn't stop the cold coming in, thankfully the curtains were good although covered the rad so i folded them up to get heat into the room.
The bathroom was again ok but tired, The ceiling was black mould more then white paint and the towels were either threadbare or worst, stained! I asked for more and 2 of those were also stained.
Staff were polite and helpful but whole place as in the building needs work.

Not sure i would chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We have been here when it was the Swallow Hilltop and this time, found it cosy with friendly staff and good value. A bit bare and clinical, lounge could do with more pictures or colour. (Not like the bright blue in the hallways)!! Dartboard in the lounge/bar better closed in cabinet so no holes everywhere. Table tennis area looks good. Noticed gym looks excellent could smell chlorine from swimming spa bit. Unfortunately no time or eaten too much, to sit in steam room or jacuzzi. Room ideal good size, colours greens and creams lovely, storage sufficient. Kettle with teas and coffee. Very hot in room: difficult to regulate and ground floor, so kept window shut at night. If u have forgotten any toiletries, reception can supply for small fee. Dining room could do with more pictures or bright canvasses likewise the hallways. Bottom bit walls will get mucky, unless papered/painted lower half of wall. Ask for suggestions from staff and guests for suggestions on decor!! Good value and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K.D.Ttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Stayed here for an overnight stay in Carlisle.
Quite hard to find even with a Sat Nav - Use the co-ordinates provided by the website, much easier then.
The hotel is clean but is looking rather tired and needs a good deal of TLC but we only paid £44 for 2 people with breakfast so can't really complain.
Best to list the good points and bad points - Might help more.
Good Points:
Clean Room with very comfy chairs
Staff all very friendly and approachable
Excellent Gym & Pool Facilities
Off the main road, so not too noisy (At night)
Food Very nice and spacious dining room

Bad Points
Most of the decor is worn, needs a major re-dec
Our room had a very annoying fan that went on forever - Rattled and buzzed
Overall condition of bathroom rather poor - Paint flaking and bad scratches on woodwork - Shower water just tepid, very disappointing
Outlook from our window - just wasteland with a derelict storeroom and lorry park and got a bit noisy in the morning
Mealtimes were very disorganised - Whilst the food was very nice, once you were served, nobody was available for quite some time, so don't try to ask for any extras.
Breakfast was total chaos - A little bit busier in the morning, but food kept running out far too often and people were left queuing for quite some time for new food to be delivered, very badly organised - Spoilt the experience for us.

Weighing up the good and bad, it is still worth the money and would most probably go back just because it was a cheap overnight stay but if you are thinking of staying longer for a holiday etc. then there are better places in the area.

Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the left hand corridors as this faces wasteland and industrial area
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived after booking via booking.com, not a very welcoming arrival.
Got asked for my name then asked to pay, no how are you? Where have you travelled from? No care given to its customers.
Given a key card for my room and left to go and find it, quite difficult and disorienting layout.
Upon using the key card to the room an alarm sounded and after opening the door I notice a number of items of clothing scattered everywhere and wardrobe doors wide open.
Upon further inspection I notice someone asleep on the bed, we quickly closed the door and returned to reception.
The same lady was still there who hardly even apologised, just blamed booking.com that they had a lot of custom today.
Was told there was no room available other than a triple room so without any option we said okay for the one night.
After seeing the room was overwhelmingly unimpressed and just wanted to leave.
Returning to the reception for the third time another lady was present who was much more friendly and apologetic about the situation but still not happy about having to find another hotel at last minute. Luckily we did and it is a wonderful B&B, the owner opened the door to us as he seen the taxi pull up and talked and walked us to our room.

Avoid the Hilltop until they figure out customer service and put tourists over contracts.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

If this hotel was to enter the Channel 4 TV program Four in a Bed, it would undoubtably come last and I doubt it would get more than half of the money it charges.
For cleanliness it would be lucky to score 1 point, it’s probably the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. ( I stayed here about 8 years ago and I doubt the windows have been cleaned since I was last here!) Windows filthy, but as there is no way to turn down the heating it is necessary to open them. Dust and fluff everywhere, (I dropped my glasses on the floor and they were disgusting when I picked them up!) manky taps in the bathroom, broken lamp, stains on walls, and generally grubby. The radiator in the dining room stained with dried on food etc
For hosting skills, again it would be lucky to score 1 point - almost all off the staff appeared miserable, poorly trained and apathetic - we were offered an omelette when we complained about the rock hard fried eggs - only to discover the chef? couldn’t cook one with ham and mushrooms in because they were bought in! It’s an omelette, you learn how to cook it on day one in chef school! Other staff surly and miserable.
Would I return? - the answer strangely enough is YES! It’s one of those places where you wonder what will happen next or what will be the next bad thing to catch your attention.

It does have character and massive potential but really is starting from a very low starting point. Amazingly this old, cheap, scruffy motel has a very, very good pool, sauna, jacuzzi complex, which was the main reason we picked it. No locks for the lockers and outside door opened to prevent condensation but other than that it deserves to be in a hotel costing double the price.
Alas this is probably the only good thing about the hotel and the breakfast was particularly bad. I get the impression that much more money needs to be spent on the hotel and unfortunately that is not available. Poor quality food, cheap sausages, limited continental breakfast options, toaster that needs 3 pass throughs to brown a piece of bread and cracked glasses for the juice.
The Managment team, Yarm and Ashley, however were excellent, fully understanding the limitations imposed upon them and trying to make a difference. We complained about the hotel and the service and I must say we were more than happy with the response from management and I think that should be noted - it’s just a shame that there were so many things wrong with the hotel, which spoilt our weekend.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews