We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the other reviews promised”
Review of The Creme Cafe

The Creme Cafe
Ranked #9 of 321 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Went for lunch after reading positive Trip Adviser reviews. We were not impressed. The lunch menu is limited, so we just had soup. One was uninteresting, one was salty. They only accepted cash (this was not advertised as far as we could see). The service was prompt.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank JeremyF163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susangN3231MH, Owner at The Creme Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

I’m sorry you didn’t Enjoy you’re visit if you looked properly we have quite an extensive menu for small cafe a lot more than other cafes in the area.a lot of our menu is on black boards.a lot of our customers tell us that we have a good assorted menu. Sorry the soup wasn’t to you’re taste but again all my customers love our soup and come back especially for that. With being a small establishment we don’t currently take cards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2020

I come from Dumfries twice a week and eat in the creme cafe the food is lovely and the staff very friendly. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sammckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019

A varied menu which is reasonably priced. Everything was fine rather than amazing but it was value for money and there was a good choice. We ate savoury but some of the cakes looked delicious.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019 via mobile

This was our first visit to these premises and went based on excellent reviews. We weren’t disappointed. Went at lunchtime on a Tuesday and it was quiet when we first went in but soon got pretty busy. We both had prawn Marie rolls and baguettes which were delicious. These were accompanied by side salad and crisps. Portions excellent too. We both had lattes and the best I’ve had for a while. They cater well for coeliacs. Service great and they also accept Dine Cards which was a bonus. Please be aware that it’s cash only. Can highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

A little off the beaten track but well worth looking out for it. Warm welcome. I had fish finger sandwich with salad and crisps. R had sausage, mash, peas and gravy. All well cooked and delicious. Very good value.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suegreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Creme Cafe also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to The Creme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.