We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge looking out
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge looking out
Lounge looking in Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Lounge looking out
Lounge looking in
Twin Bedroom
Double bedroom
Double Room
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen View
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge table
Kitchen worktop
View of Bedrooms
Bathroom Ducks!
Lounge seating
View of Kitchen Table
View of Kitchen corridor
View of Heads Nook Hall Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dianebund...
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is an amazing little cottage, we booked to attend a wedding. It was our first trip away with our 4 month old and couldn't have asked for more. Cot and highchair avaliable for the baby as well as a very comfortable living space.

Kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Full use of a utility room which was needed with a baby, they even provided washing powder and softener.

The set up is great, we had 4 adults and a baby in the cottage for a week. Lots of space and not on top of each other like some places we had stayed previously without a baby.

We were greeted with home made scones and flexible check in (kept Malcom in loop of when we expected to arrive via email). Great leisure facilities just down the road too. Great location will definitely be returning. Xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie M
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't fault the place. The cottage had everything we needed and was very cosy and romantic. The location is driving distance from most places but that's why we stayed there. We will be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday Cottage. Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed at Heads Nook Hall Cottage for a couple of nights. One of our first trips away with our young daughter (11 months) and we stayed here to visit family nearby. The cottage is amazing - a real home from home. Everything you want is here (fully equipped kitchen, separate utility, cosy lounge with large TV and cosy fire and luxury bathroom). We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

Malcolm was friendly and helpful throughout the booking process (highchair and cot available for the baby) and Mandy the housekeeper was very welcoming (and left us milk in the fridge and home made scones on arrival).

Great location just outside Carlisle and easy to reach the surrounding countryside and The Lakes. Just can't fault it. Thank you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WedgerI
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A perfect venue”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Decided to book the cottage for my 50th last June after we had stayed in the main house overnight, we loved that room and the way we were treated so we thought let's book the cottage for my big one.
Not dissapointed at all, everything that has already been said in comment previous is true, we wanted for nothing.
We are now going to check our work commitments and book for a week in September , three days was not enough.
Has usually malcolm and Mandy were perfect hosts with nothing a problem even down to ringing around the pubs to find who had the man utd Liverpool game on, with the right result rounding off a fabulous birthday.
Thank you again heads nook for being the best. Paul and Pam x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leanne083
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a two night stay with friends at heads nook hall cottage. The cottage is truly beautiful and finished to a by hide standard. The owner has thought of everything you could possibly need, and was on hand when we arrived and left! Lovely secluded and beautiful area with scenic walks but not too far from Carlisle if you want to explore. I would recommend this to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything we needed had already been thought of
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2013
So glad that you all enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive comments. Best Regards Malcolm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$144
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing