We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant”

The Plough Inn Wreay
Ranked #9 of 377 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Plough Inn was tastefully refurbished with handmade brickwork and granite slabs, under floor heating adding to the warm, relaxing and welcoming atmosphere in 2005. The bar has been built using hand-made bricks rescued from an old Cumbrian mill race, decorating its front is an old ploughshare, the rural connection continued with a part of the edging to the bar coming from a combine harvester. The Plough has a well-deserved, excellent reputation for it's food which is locally sourced, wherever possible. Meals are served between 12 and 3pm, Wednesday to Sunday and between 5.30 - 9pm Tuesday to Sunday from March - November, The Plough opens on a Monday evening from 7pm for a fun quiz night which starts at 8.15pm. It is a £1 to enter and teams can have up to 6 players per team. A bottle of wine is raffled on the evening with the proceed going to the winners charity of choice. Free home made chips are given to all that attend on the evening. Tuesday evenings during March - November offer a small limited menu followed by a weekly acoustic music evening where musicians can come and play with other like minded folk or can just come to sit and listen and enjoy the music. A fun night is guaranteed for all who attend with a selection of real ales available from Corby & Hawkshead Brewery. It has been LocAle accredited by the Solway branch for it's local real ales and we are in the We hope to be in the 2016 edition of The Good Beer guide and have won CAMRA Winter Pub of the Season December 2015 and have just been nominated for CAMRA Pub of the Year 2016 so fingers crossed. We have been nominated 2014 and 2015 as Best Country Pub in the Carlisle Living Magazine awards and as a small family business are thrilled with the achievements so far since we took over the pub in May 2014. We have a real wood burning stove lit on a cool evening to add to the lovely ambiance of this Country Inn. We often have live music acts who come to entertain customers at The Plough Inn. The dates for these can be found both on the website and on The Plough Inn Facebook page. We can cater for up to 65 covers, weddings, funerals, birthday parties, special events, business/corporate lunches/meetings and training days. Afternoon teas are available on request, but must be booked. PLEASE NOTE - ALL OUR FOOD IS COOKED FRESH TO ORDER SO YOU WILL HAVE A WAIT WHILST YOUR FOOD IS COOKED. WE CATER FOR PEOPLE WITH VARIOUS ALLERGENS, PLEASE DISCUSS THIS WITH YOUR WAITRESS ON ARRIVAL
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Me and wife called mid week 5pm i can now see why it so popular .our meal was delicious .we had the pate for starters very nice . The steak pie was fantastic very very tasty. We look forward to our return .

Thank shilly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the lovely comments and taking the time to review your visit to the Plough. Look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Read the write up in Cumbria Life 200 best places to eat 2018 and decided to visit. Booked last minute Easter Sunday, so got the last table beside the front door which wasn't the nicest BUT excellent choice on the menu,extremely friendly atmosphere.ALL the staff were genuine , knowledgeable on the menu,friendly and helpful and interested. Gluten free was extremely tasty and plentiful.Garlic mushrooms were very fresh.Pork belly starter was small but beautifully cooked.Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SAZ22X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit. I presume from your comments that you were seated in the bar area around the corner from the door. It is a bit of a subjective table, abit like Marmite, you either love it or hate it. We have many customers who specify this table when they ring up and others that don’t like being situated near the door and ask for an alternative when they book. If you come again just ask that you are not placed near the door. We will then do everything in our power to juggle tables around to ensure you are not placed there,

Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon this lovely pub on google and as the reviews were good we thought we’d try it out. It was the highlight of our trip! Jane and Alex who run the pub are so lovely. They made us feel so welcome and as we hadn’t been to the area before told us all about the history not only of the pub but the village. It was all so interesting!

The food was really good. I had the fajitas which were so yummy and tasted like proper Home made food.

We will definitely be going back next time we are in the area. You’d be missing out if you didn’t stop here!

Thank Traveller1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for the amazing comments and it was lovely to meet you both. We hope that your wedding day is amazing and if you are back in the area you pop and say hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We just visited for the first time with our five month old son and were so impressed with our experience. The staff reserved us a lovely table by the window with loads of room for our pushchair. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, offering us a high chair and even taking our order super quickly so we wouldn't have to wait too long with the baby. The Sunday Lunch itself was delicious and I highly recommend the brandy snaps for pudding. Thanks again and we can't wait to come back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Owner at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and thank you for the lovely comments. Hope the little man is feeling better and if you are ever in the area we hope to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Visited for Mother's Day as a party of 7 including children. Very friendly welcome from the staff and very attentive during our meal. Food was lovely, very well cooked and we were all very pleased with our meals. All mums were given a complementary small bottle of wine or champagne which was a lovely touch. We will definitely visit here and again and would recommend a visit.

Thank jacq5227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your Mother’s Day visit to the Plough. We recognise that mums are special all year round but wanted to acknowledge that on Mithers Day with a little treat. We are so pleased you enjoyed all of your courses and the kids burger. Every aspect of our menu is designed fresh to order and I’m so you agree that this is reflected in the quality and freshness of the food, from the aldente vegetables, to the light and fluffy onion rings on the burger, to the home made bread. So it’s lovely to get that recognition in a lovely review, so thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn Wreay also viewed

 

Been to The Plough Inn Wreay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing