We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Hotels.com
US$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$109
US$87
View deal
SAVE US$22
Free cancellation until 28/05/21
Expedia.comUS$108
eDreamsUS$91
FindHotelUS$109
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
35
39
24
6
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
35
39
24
6
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful stained glass original features visit family visiting carlisle full english comfortable bed stayed here for nights city centre an evening meal would definitely stay here again lovely hotel short break warm welcome budget hotel night's sleep night stay tiles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2020

Having returned to Carlisle for the first time since 2013, I once again stayed at The Pinegrove (although not alone this time) and found it to be of the same level of quality as back then, perhaps even improved—I did get the impression some of the furnishings had been renewed.
The Pinegrove is about a 20-minute walk out of the city centre, the advantage of which is less traffic noise. There is also a bus stop not far off.
Given the unusual circumstances, the hotel had made some adjustments for social distancing and the room was not serviced during our stay. The bar and breakfast room operated on a one-way system. Hand sanitiser was provided by the entry.
It was good of them, upon our having checked out, to let us leave our luggage for the day, in order for us to pick it up in the evening.
Oh aye, breakfast was top-notch; I could not fault the kippers, nor the full English.
This is still a decent and reliable hotel, always a good choice when staying in Carlisle.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom_Pandelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

I’ve come here for years. Pleasant people, nice pints. Five stars. Staff are great, tidy bar, nice original features, and love the house plants. Would recommend to those travelling the north west or looking for a friendly local

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank skean45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2020

This was the first hotel we had used post lockdown. The hotel was very clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. An evening meal was not available due to covid but we were guided to a pub across the road were we could eat. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank farmernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020

The staff were excellent. The bar is well stocked and the atmosphere friendly.
Our little yorkie terrier was treated like royalty. Not a great choice for breakfast but the food was good. The parking was very good.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2020

Came up to visit family for the first time since the lockdown. Lovely building, friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast was great and bedrooms comfortable and tidy.
Would recommend for anyone visiting Carlisle or the lakes areas.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank agreener9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews