We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
Expedia.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/06/21
Hotels.com
US$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/06/21
TravelocityUS$82
eDreamsUS$81
PricelineUS$81
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,609)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveller rating
463
402
332
208
206
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
463
402
332
208
206
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hallmark hotel train station travelling by train christmas party buffet style saturday night city centre one night stay car parking double room ballroom pubs lakes scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2020

The room we stayed in was very nice, clean, spacious and had nice amenities and accessories. Good breakfast in the morning served fresh and hot and the staff were all very friendly helpful! Lovely Bar/lounge area and nice dinning room too. Only negative was the bar closed at 11 pm and we would have liked to stop for a few drinks after the show we attended.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020 via mobile

Hotel is a bit tired, I struggled to find a seat in the lounge bar that wasnt stained to have some food and a drink. In fact most of the hotel is stained (including the lampshades in my room).

I was greeted by a server at the bar who was very nice who recommended a meal which was not great - the lasagne came and it was...lets say last nights heated up would be being nice.

Reception staff are helpful. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast was fine with an ok amount of choice, fresh fruit would have been nice (not just a fruit salad bowl) and an option to have normal yoghurt that isn't fat free. Coffee was dreadful.

I'll skip this place until then refurb is done.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank bushesbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Dixon, General Manager at Carlisle Station Hotel, Sure Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following you stay with us, we truly appreciate the feedback that our guests provide as this is what allows us to continue to improve, so once again thank you.
I'm sorry that your experience in the bar was not up to standard, our home made lasagna is usually praised by our guests and is one of our more popular dishes - once again I apologise that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion.
The hotel is undergoing a period of change currently and the planned works in the future will address the fixtures and fittings, however a stained lampshade is not acceptable and I have flagged this with our Housekeeping team and would appear to have been missed on both cleaning and checking of the room and has since been replaced.
I'm pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful and we hope we can welcome you back to the Hallmark Hotel in Carlisle on your next trip to the area.
Kind regards
Rob Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Yes the hotel is somewhat tired and in need of renovation but, and it’s a big but the staff are just incredible. Friendly, polite, professional-nothing else to say but a massive thanks. Second visit within 4 weeks and I can’t praise them enough. Want a warm and friendly welcome? Visit the Hallmark. And before you ask I have nothing to do with the hotel - I live 100 miles away.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nedkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Dixon, General Manager at Carlisle Station Hotel, Sure Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Good Afternoon Nedkl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us, I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found the team warm and welcoming. The team pride themselves with putting our guests at the heart of everything that they do and feedback such as yours encourages this even further, so thank you once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle on your next trip to the area.

Kind regards
Rob Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Had a lovely room (executive). Shower needs an update, but everything worked and the room itself was very spacious.
The lady on reception (Laura) was engaging, helpful with any queries and couldn't do enough to help
Also met the new manager - lots of changes made (apparently, this was my first visit) and more planned.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 378oliverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert Dixon, General Manager at Carlisle Station Hotel, Sure Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Good Afternoon 378oliverr,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your stay with us, it was nice to meet you during your time here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle on your next planned trip to the area, and showcasing more of the positive changes that are being experienced within the hotel.

Kind regards
Rob Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

We were sold a beautiful Sunday roast dinner, only to be greated with a plate full of lumpy mash potato and inedible beef. When we complained we were told the chef that day was an agency chef. The duty manager then promptly disappeared, leaving the poor waitress to deal with us. Never again!!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank derekminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobDixonGM, General Manager at Carlisle Station Hotel, Sure Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Good Afternoon DerekMiner,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

The Hallmark Hotel Carlisle does not currently offer Sunday Lunch and hasn't offered this in 2020 as yet as we undergo some changes to the operation within the hotel.

I do notice that the table decorations in the background of your photograph appear to be from a dinner provided at the hotel from a Coach Tour on the 1st February of this year - and not from a Sunday Lunch at the hotel as you are claiming. If indeed you are a member of that party, and your previous review history seems to show that you were, then I apologise for the quality of your meal at the hotel, there was a delay caused by the Tour Operator which held up the delivery of the meals to the function - this is not the standard to which the hotel operates under normal circumstances.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle in the future where I am sure you will have a much improved experience.

Kind regards
Rob Dixon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews