We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Dependency Unit”
Review of The Hospital Arms

The Hospital Arms
Ranked #186 of 545 Restaurants in Colchester
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We were well cared for. We wanted one of those lazy Sundays - a wander to a pub, Sunday paper under the arm, a couple of pints of good ale, followed by a Sunday roast that left us stuffed and unable to move - we had to carry on drinking wine until we felt like leaving. We just had to. A perfect place for this. The staff were friendly from the moment Tanya took the booking. There's a small restaurant area, a cosy outside courtyard for smokers and plenty of seating inside if you just want a drink. The edge of town location is handy, and yet keeps the tourists away. One pet hate (see our previous reviews) if you advertise wines, please make sure you have them, if not, then change the blackboard. Out of a dozen I was told that there were only a couple available. One mark off. Wish this was our local...

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrandMrsHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

The Hospital Arms on Colchester's Crouch street is a well trodden destination. Opposite the nearly defunct Essex County Hospital, Ward 9 as it was known by the hospital staff, is still a good location for pub food and the back garden a haven in the summer months. Not far from Colchester's historic town centre and Roman wall, if you are a fan of Adnam's ales and strong lagers, plus some lively chat, you will have visited the right pub.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Hamish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This iconic venue is now neither one thing or another. gone are some of the antique tables and chairs and replaced with modern pine furniture and some soft cushions. , When we visited, it appeared that customers had marked with their feet, but this may not be representative. The gents toilet continues to need some TLC.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Clubbyman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Been going to this pub for over 20 years. Seen different landlords, decor, displays in the central glass cabinet...Good range of the local brewery beers (Adnams) plus usual list of pub drinks. Slightly scruffy but unpretentious and comfortable, it's a great pub to have as your regular local. Friendly staff, clean toilets, good outdoor seating area. They do Sunday lunches. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2017
2  Thank liz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Visited this pub recently having gone there for many years, and to our delight....at last(!), there was music being played, like you find in most pubs. It really changed the whole atmosphere, with regulars and newcomers tapping their feet as they happily chatted in this new relaxed environment. Many people were saying that is was a really nice change and hoped it would continue, as this pub can often lack atmosphere....please note management.
Lovely evening, thanks again!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank january099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hospital Arms also viewed

 
Mersea Island, Colchester
 
Layer de la Haye, Colchester
Dedham, Colchester
 

Been to The Hospital Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing