We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand!”

Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 517 Restaurants in Colchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One our favourite places in the area. Can't fault it, love every aspect of their approach to the guest

Thank teishex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HallFarmRestaurant, Manager at Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much, I know both the chefs and the front of house team will be delighted with your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a delicious Saturday brunch, with friendly service from the staff. I had salmon and scrambled eggs, the salmon had a strong tasty smoke. My partner had the full English (pictured) and didn't eat again until dinnertime! In a different experience to a previous reviewer, I was able to have soya milk with my coffee. We also had coffee & walnut cake - yum!

I haven't given 5 stars because I would have liked to swap the scrambled eggs for poached (much healthier) but they don't allow substitutions.

We did book a table, but there were a handful unoccupied while we were there, so they may have been able to accommodate walk-ins.

Thank AngelRachelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HallFarmRestaurant, Manager at Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are always more than happy for customers to choose either poached, scrambled or fried eggs on any of our breakfasts, we only ask that customers do not swap or create their own breakfasts from the other items due to time constraints in the kitchen. We look forward to seeing you back at Hall Farm soon to enjoy your poached eggs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The 3 of us popped in on our way to Harwich for lunch without booking, the place was full, however the staff did find us a table. The lunch was excellent, the staff could not have been more helpful. All in all a pleasant experience we will return.

Thank MerlinNorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HallFarmRestaurant, Manager at Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review I know the whole team will be delighted with your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Chose cheque monsier light bites..very filling and scrummy ...highly recommend !
..gt gruber cheese.definitely good value friendly service

Thank Normanjordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HallFarmRestaurant, Manager at Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hall Farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A bright, airy, modern building with lovely views across the countryside and the adjoining farm trail. We only popped in for coffee and although we were seated quickly it took some time for our order to be taken and we were beginning to think we had been forgotten. I was surprised and disappointed that they do not offer soya/oat/almond milk alternatives.
After our coffee we popped into the farm shop which offers a lovely selection of foods, cards and crafts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 8mrsh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HallFarmRestaurant, Manager at Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are sorry that when you visited you found the service to be slow and hope that when you next visit you will find it is back to our normal high standard. We have listened to feedback and are now stocking soya milk. We hope to see you back at Hall Farm soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 
Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Hall Farm Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing