We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
187
108
73
44
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
108
73
44
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ann louise including breakfast christmas lunch bridal suite night porter bath and shower full english bed and breakfast lady on reception stayed here for one night overnight stay breakfast was excellent excellent value wedding party course meal steak family room
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Only stayed here for one night but were given a good size nice clean room with big comfortable bed and ensuite bathroom for £41. There were tea/coffee making facilities and a small shampoo and shower gel was provided in the bathroom. There is free parking and the staff are friendly and helpful. The only downsides were we had trouble turning off the shower and had to ask the reception to come and turn it off for us,also the walls area bit thin if you have someone noisy next for to you as we did and the hotel literally has nothing round it but if you travel a couple of miles up the road to Wickersley there are plenty of pubs and restaurants.
Would stop here again for overnight stay.

Stayed: September 2018
3  Thank essexgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel latefor me, my husband and daughter so needed a family room. Booking was done through a popular booking website and it said checkin was not until 3. We thought ok thats fair but then it asked us to confirm what time we were arriving. We were travelling up for my nieces birthday so advised that we would be arriving around 12.
We thought that this would give us a chance to change and freshen up before going to the party. Arrived at 1 to be told our room was not ready and checkin was not until 3. You have to ask yourself why do they bother asking then. The gentleman did say sorry and was polite so we left and went to the pub where the party was.
We returned later at 7 and checkin was very quick.
Went to our room (203) first impressions were it was a very big room. The bathroom was very large. Then we noticed the single beds. I booked what i thought was a double and bunk bed but being tired i did not want to change rooms (hotel had a function on)
My husband went down to get drinks at 9:30 and found bar was shut as all there staff were dealing with the function. The staff were accomdating and got us some when they didnt have to which was nice.
We had a reasonable nights sleep.
Dont have breakfast its awful. The selection is limited. Ordered a cooked breakfast and went off to make toast. The bread was still in its wrapper so the date was on it. The date was the 4th September. We were having breakfast on the 9th not good. The cooked breakfast was cheap food; nothing nice about it.
They are clearly lacking staff. The staff they do have are trying there best. They were nothing but helpful the whole time we were there but fighting an uphill battle.
All in all ok for the price but would not stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Lottieann2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel is appalling. See Margo T’s review below. I attended the same wedding where they ran out of food and guests had to clear up. We didn’t mind mucking in one bit but awful for the poor bride and groom. Place needs to be bought over and a whole new management put in. The cutlery sticks to the table in the breakfast hall. In fact- everything is sticky. The shower was like a dripping tap. There is a wine list- but they don’t serve any of the wine on the list. They close the bar to residents if there’s a function on. I could go on but just avoid and stay somewhere else. It was like Fawlty Towers. And DONT get married here. If you’ve booked for a wedding- find somewhere else now!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank zedrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

What a disappointment and farce. I am disgusted that having booked a birthday gathering at the Consort Hotel, we all turned up tonight to be told by reception that "the restaurant was closed" !!! At first we thought it was a joke, but then noticing all the lights were off and no staff around the penny dropped that our travelling guests would be getting hungry. Having booked with the hotel and giving them our phone number it was extremely embarrassing not have been contacted to at least say they would not be opening so we could make alternative birthday plans. Our birthday guests decided to walk across the road to the Double Barrel, who were very obliging, very friendly, and served great food. We used to go every week to the Consort Hotel for excellent food, then they changed hands and when we went for a wedding anniversary gathering they ran out of sweets for our guests, and now the ultimate disaster of not even having the restaurant open for our pre-booking. We will NOT be going back again, and suggest anyone else booking a meal take their own pack up food with them and be prepared to camp up in their car park.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank djb102018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

What a horrendous visit we stayed in the hotel after a wedding function which was also shocking
Our room was dirty and bedding had stains on told staff promised fresh bedding but unfortunately it never happened
Arrived for breakfast at 09:45hrs which was went to stop serving at 10:00 and was told they are not cooking anymore
I’ve never been so disappointed that I am from the entire day at this place
DONT NOT VISIT THIS TRASH

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Moseley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews