We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
75
27
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
27
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pre ordered breakfast yogurt lovely guesthouse cooked breakfast quiet road cooked to perfection bank holiday nothing too much trouble pleasant stay fantasy island my son weekend wendy fab keys hosts mattress
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We have just come home from a couple of days spent at the Philmar, couldn't fault it the owners were so friendly and helpful and the rooms clean, the beds really comfy and the breakfast was fantastic would highly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

my wife and myself were impressed with this guest house the room and ensuite were very clean we were made very welcome,the breakfast was a good start to any day and we will be stopping again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steveleonard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We arrived a the Philmar to a lovely friendly welcome from Wendy. After checking us in she explained about breakfast etc, then showed us to our room. We had room 2 and it was a lovely bright room and spotlessly clean. The bed was so comfortable it was the best night's sleep we had for a long time. There is a kettle in the room and well stocked with tea & coffee and even a biscuit to have. We pre - ordered breakfast and I have to say it didn't disappoint, there is plenty of choice, from fruit juice, cereal, yoghurt & fresh fruit, all available to have before your cooked breakfast! Tim ( the owner) does the cooked breakfast, it's fab! Also a rack of toast and selection of jams marmalades too! We will definitely visit again! We parked on the roadside at the front of the property!

Room Tip: We were in room 2 which is on the front on a road, but it was quiet and didn't disturb us at all.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

It was both our birthday and Anniversary weekend away with my twin sister and hubbies, had planned to go to the Embassy Theatre but the show cancelled ,, but still went ahead with the weekend any way. Tim phoned as we were travelling to ask when we would be arriving, as he was going to be out in the afternoon, so thoughtful, so we arrived in the morning and we were allowed to go into the rooms and drop the bags off and get our keys. Everything was explained to us, regarding keys and breakfast and then showed to our rooms. we asked about places to go to eat & entertainment due to us been let down by the threatre Didn't see him again until the morning, he came and talked to us about what we got up to the night before, and where we ended up. very friendly,. Breakfast was served with a smile and all very nice. Rooms nice and warm, everything in it was what you need for a weekend away, for us the bed wasn't big enough, but we sleep in a king bed , so this was always going to be different , but apart from the size of the bed , it was very comfy. Would go back . Thank you,

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Very nice people, room clean and well equipped. Breakfast was ordered night before and proved to be delicious. We had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to book again. Thank you folks for a pleasant stay. See you again !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews