We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
249
146
41
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
249
146
41
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel the pub roll top bath separate toilet william cecil huge bathroom burghley house busy road coffee machine main road double glazing lots of character biscuits cold buffet full english breakfast old building lovely food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2020

Having stayed at the William Cecil, we thought we would try their other property the Bull and Swan. As it is on the main High Street, parking is only available at the William Cecil about 200 yds up the road. Sadly, our memory of this place was overshadowed by the fact they had an electrical fault which meant that the kitchens were closed but we could eat at the William Cecil. So, dinner was a long walk in the rain up to the William Cecil. Curiously, we were seated at the same table as on our previous visit but this time I did get my Burger and chips. After walking back in the rain to our room we found the TV remote did not work. A search was made for another remote but the TV would not move past BBC1 so it was a very boring night. Next day, yes, you guessed it another walk to the William Cecil for breakfast and back again. After checking out and returning yet again to the William Cecil to collect our car, walking around Stamford had lost its appeal so we went home.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

We had a very disappointing experience staying and eating here right from the start. At no point was it pointed out to us that there was no parking at this hotel and that we had to park at the William Cecil up the road and carry all our luggage and dog to the hotel (not far but in the pouring rain also not fun). Our room, whilst nice and big with a lovely bathroom was very dimly lit, it was like night time constantly and a big iron shaped mark on the carpet. The heating was not working and the room was very cold. My husband went to the bar and spoke to someone who said they would ring the room within 15 minutes to see if it had warmed up but no phone call came. My husband then rang the bar (no apology received for not ringing us) after which someone came to the room and agreed that, yes, it wasn't working! They did get us an electric fan heater for the room eventually, but really poor service. We went to the bar for lunch only to be told that because of Covid all we could have was pizza and it would be a long wait. We were both very hungry so asked for bar snacks while we waited for the pizza but they didn't have any!! Not even a bag of nuts! Why does the Covid pandemic mean they can only have one menu choice and no snacks?? We were asked via e-mail after our visit if we had any concerns about our stay, to which we replied with all of the above but we had absolutely no response from them at all, hence this review. They had their chance to address what happened but failed. I would certainly never stay here again or recommend it to anyone else.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadamatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

We initially called the William Cecil Hotel, but theyre phones took a good few times before we actually got through as we wanted to book a room. As we got there they didnt have the room available and sent us to eat and stay at their sister pub the bull and swan. Which was less quality yet we never got a price change. We had Sunday lunch which was very disappointing. There were 2 very thin and small slices of meat, the most on the plate was the green, there was more gravy in their gravy boats than there is food on the plate. There were 4 small roasties between us, and if we wanted more they would charge us an extra £1.50 per roastie..
We spent the night there and the room was relatively tidy, but it was so cold and dark like the restaurant and the refreshments weren’t replenished. There is a hazardous plug socket that goes into the wall and ironing marks on the floor. The view wasnt great. Overall the food was edible and it is a roof over your head. But presuming you have a decent budget and a good appetite, I would not recommend this place

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yesfam278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

Amazing what you can achieve with a wide angled camera and good lighting. The website picture of the so called Chic Wild Horse room where we stayed for two nights gave an impression of quality, space and comfort. Far from it. The room is narrower than imagined, large and comfortable bed, two bedside lamps with 40 watt bulbs plus an equally dim central light and no further lighting, At night, these gave such a dim glow, bedtime reading was a strain. 40 watt bulbs in a room costing £120 per night is unacceptable. And then the noise! The room overlooks the main road through Stamford, constant traffic making sleeping difficult. No secondary glazing to minimize the road traffic noise. Entering the bedroom, we looked for the ensuite. Nothing on the website to tell you that the toilet was in a separate room outside the bedroom door at the top of the main stairs to the bedroom and the bathroom was opposite the bedroom across a small landing. If you wanted privacy from other guests when exiting the bedroom , there was just a curtain to draw across the stairs. The toilet room smelt musty, no extractor or window to open. By contrast, the bathroom was well lit, warm and comfortable. We eat at the William Cecil and wished we had stayed there.
Wild Horses wouldn't drag us back to this hotel - so disappointing.

Room tip: Avoid any rooms at the front of the hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Poor communication from bar staff and terrible management. We popped in for a quick lunch and after waiting 30 minutes we asked whether we were next (reasonable we thought) and got a very defensive response with no apology (other than by the lovely ladies in the kitchen hand making the pizza). 15 minutes later and still nothing so I asked what was happening and got a negative response from the manager once more and was told ‘you can go check if you like’. Unacceptable. He then made the kitchen staff relay back and forth and eventually came out to offer drinks even though we had already confirmed we couldn’t have any because we were driving. No explanation was given as to why we couldn’t have a refund for the pizza we had waited so long to receive. The pizza itself and garden was lovely, such a shame it was ruined by delays and poor communication and more so by the manager and bar staff.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank fabiagoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews