We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
519
325
122
42
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
519
325
122
42
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burghley house lovely hotel the ground floor luxury room eggs benedict enjoyable stay breakfast was excellent two night stay large room old building car park busy road good nights sleep lovely room well worth a visit top quality full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2020

This place is incredible , stunning setting and great drinks I’m yet to stay for a full meal we normally have nibbles but highly recommend . They used to do Louis roedror champagne which was great but menu is still Varst

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank amandacoker88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2020

Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. This was the outstanding feature of the hotel.

Food was excellent and portions fair. The cooked breakfast was good ingredients, perfectly cooked to order, which is not always the case in hotels. Special requests were happily accommodated. Breakfast is included in the room price, which makes for good value.

OUr room faced the back and was quiet at night. Shower but no bath. I must say though that the windows were in very poor condition over the whole hotel. We had no problem with the shabby decor.

Location very good, plenty of parking. Overall a very good break.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Chadwick, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Thank you for your review.

I am please to read that the majority of your stay was to your satisfaction, the whole team got the opportunity to see your very kind words before we sadly had to close our doors again not long after.

We have done a lot of work throughout this lock down in terms of bringing our public areas and rooms up to standard. I do hope you return when we reopen again to see the changes we have made, maybe then we can go one better and get the five stars.

Stay safe,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2020

We stayed in room 2 which was spacious and had a very comfortable bed with some lovely fluffy pillows.

The staff were absolutely lovely and a delight to talk to, especially the young lady in bar. A thoroughly enjoyable stay, we will definitely go back, especially as it is right next door to the Burghley estate and had a wonderful walk up to the house in the morning.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MelanieHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Chadwick, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

What a fantastic review, thank you.

I cannot wait to welcome you back soon. We have given our public areas a facelift throughout this second lock down, also some exciting new menus are ready to launch as soon as we can leave the current restrictions and return to come kind of normal!

Kind regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed with our 2 dogs for one night in September. Great welcome and our room in the Lodge House was large, well appointed, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Dinner was superb, a warm and convivial atmosphere and we enjoyed the bar despite the new Covid rules! Great walks with direct access to Burghley. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially in what must be very challenging circumstances. We'll definitely be back, thank you!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Myhappyplace123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Chadwick, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback following your stay.

These are indeed challenging circumstances for everybody and I am pleased that we made your stay with us memorable despite this. I was sure to pass on your kind words to the team before we unfortunately had to close our doors for the second time this year.

Fingers crossed that we can reopen and welcome you back very soon,

Stay safe,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020 via mobile

Comfortable room and friendly staff with an old world charm. The hotel has lots of steps and stairs as it is made from three old buildings joined together. They have a nice bar area, restaurant and conservatory. We stayed for three nights and ate in the restaurant for two of them. You order your breakfast for the following day, booking a time slot and what you want to eat. The rooms are not serviced while you are staying but you can have more towels, tea etc if you ask. The food is good but not cheap. It’s an easy walk into the charming town and there are lots of places to eat.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WendyGuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Chadwick, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2020

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, I hope you return just as soon as these current restrictions are lifted, I am confident that we can improve this score further to get the five stars,

Stay safe,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews