We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway for a sophisticated hen...”

Review of Rock Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna S
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect getaway for a sophisticated hen weekend”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic hen weekend at Rock Farm. The location is stunning and the cottage is of very high quality with most bedrooms having en-suite facilities. It was great to have a dining table that could comfortably accommodate 13 people. We had a number of activities organised for the weekend including massage therapists coming to the house, clay pigeon shooting a short walk across the fields, cocktail making class at the house and our own chef came in on the Saturday night and cooked an exquisite 3 course dinner. We also had a butler in the buff serve our drinks! The quality and professionalism of all the activities was outstanding and i cannot recommended enough for you to try at least one activity during a stay at Rock Farm. Thanks for making my best friends hen weekend so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property throughout
Liked least: Needs more oven trays and serving dishes to reflect the number of guests (i.e so you can do a big full English in the oven)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Thank you so much for such a glowing review and we are so glad that everything was just right for your weekend away and the activities were exactly what you wanted. All of our service providers enjoyed the activities as well and appreciated your group getting fully involved. We hope to see you all back in the future at some point.
Kindest regards Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
Thank you very much for your glowing review and we are really pleased that Rock Farm was everything that you wanted it to be. The property is situated in such a great location you really do feel part of the Somerset countryside. We hope to see you again in the future.
Many thanks Ed and the Woodlands Retreats Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and quality of the property
Liked least: kitchen utensils and serving bowls etc could be more extensive based on number of people
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind words, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rock Farm. It is indeed a very special place and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Paul & team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
27love2tr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Ten friends, a dog and a child....suitable for all.

We stayed here as a group of friends, mainly couples. This house and the annex combined have plenty of bedrooms each with their own character.

Stunning house, plenty of space, we didn't struggle for kitchen space for storage or cooking for all of us. Everything is in immaculate condition and the spec of all equipment is high.

Hot tub was the most used facility, along with the fires for a cosy evening in watching TV. Loved gathering round the huge table for meals together....again plenty of room for us all.

Would also like to add that due to the house size, the rooms could have been chilly but every area of the house was warm and cosy which was lovely. In fact we had to turn the heating down!

Games room was a great place for everyone to have fun and we really couldn't have asked for more.

What made it relaxed is the ability to take our time leaving, making the final arrangements on the day which felt really flexible.

Would love to return.....a brilliant short break over the weekend.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend at Rock Farm and that it was warm and cosy! We appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again sometime. Paul & the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith H
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous house in a beautiful ligation”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

An absolutely fabulous house set in the most idilc surroundings . The house is beautifully presented, immaculately clean and well equipped to cater for large groups. The hot tub and games room kept children and adults alike entertained and the flexible departure time meant we could maximise our weekend to the full.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Rock Farm is indeed a beautiful property in a stunning location, but we do also pride ourselves on our cleanliness and equipment levels, and it's great to know that it has been appreciated. Paul & the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;