We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Needs some attention.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Cardiff
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Needs some attention.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Got an excellent deal (50% off) for a compact room but were upgraded (without asking) to a standard room. Very friendly receptionist, made us feel welcome. Shame we weren't told restaurant was fully booked for the evening. When we returned to our room after a short walk we went downstairs to eat only to be informed that they had no room. We had to get all dressed up again and go in search of somewhere! (Temperature was well below freezing that evening)
Points to note
1) The window in our room didn't close properly so noise (from smokers?) in alleyway can be clearly heard.
2) The bed was far too soft giving very little support.
3) Partition wall very thin so could clearly hear conversation next door.
4) Chambermaids sitting on stairs doing nothing when we went down to breakfast didn't create a good impression.

The breakfast, £5 if booked in advance was good with plenty of choice. Also a very good hospitality tray etc.

It's a quirky old building and if they sort out these small items it's somewhere I'd be happy to recommend

Room Tip: Check the bed and the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disleksik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    264
    175
    106
    72
See reviews for
74
278
63
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Took advantage of an offer of £25 room only for one night (rate, I was told, was normally £95). Up-graded immediately by a very welcoming Receptionist and the room was airy and spacious - with free WiFi. Only downside was the narrow staircase to the 2nd floor.
Breakfast (fantastic sausage in the Full English) was £5 - more great value.
Sadly, a problem with the cellar meant I could not taste the two real ales, but there is an extensive wine list.

Room Tip: I got the offer through www.booking.com, and it was great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were over all very pleased with this hotel, the staff were very pleasant and service very good. The rooms are of a good clean standard. The Bar was very nice for a few drinks before you go out but a little pricey. Also i can't comment on the evening meals but the menu looks good. The breakfast was of a continental buffet stile also if you preferred a full English it was brought from the kitchen, you could have both if you liked! The location was about 10 to 15 min walk from town center, fine for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel, its not a budget hotel but good value for money :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neilcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

The rooms maybe small but I don't think they hide that fact, they are clean and comfortable. We got a great price through Late Rooms. The bar downstairs is very good and run by effortlessly friendly people. We were in Taunton for a wedding and it was a great place to crash, they made no fuss about letting us check in at 12pm rather than the official time of 3pm.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

My husband and myself stayed for a night in the disabled room and it is excellent for both disabled and able bodied people. Plenty of room, a wet room and easily accessible. The room was clean and well equipped with fresh milk and confectionery. The breakfast was fantastic and our evening meal in The Wine and Sausage restaurant was faultless. Overall, an excellent establishment and we will be recommending it to others. Thank you for a lovely stay. Mr and Mrs Usher.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.6 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
8.8 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.8 km away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing