We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
394
193
48
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
394
193
48
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bay room spiral staircase the cedar room duck egg hatch beauchamp cosy bar fresh milk quiet village black pudding young staff log fire continental breakfast home grown small hotel upgraded room course dinner wine list
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Farthings was easy to find in a picturesque village near Taunton. On arrival, we were warmly greeted by John and Daniel. It was my first visit but Lucy had been many times before. Our room was massive, bigger than king-size bed, comfortable sofa and very traditionally decorated. TV, radio alarm, tea and coffee making facilities. all handy in the room. The bathroom was off a small vestibule within the bedroom giving an even more luxurious feel. Plenty of hot water and massive old-fashioned radiators kept us toasty.

Downstairs the bar area has comfortable sofas, armchairs and tables all surrounding a massive open fire. The bar is well stocked for such a small hotel. The food at Farthings is exceptional, the menu varied with all ingredients sourced locally, for example, West Bay scallops and crab, Exmoor Venison, home reared duck. Breakfast this morning continued the same way, with the full English being complemented by locally sourced meat and duck eggs from the garden. Vegetarian options are always available.

In summary one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank linsf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

Loved the hotel - had a simply stunning room with spiral stairway to bathroom. Whilst a little disappointed that when I rang ahead to say I would be arriving later than anticipated through train delays and asked about evening meal was told I would be too late - with no alternative offered. Also told not allowed to book a taxi for me. I went to the Hatch that is a few minutes walk away and had a superb, really good value meal and booked my own taxi.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jennyhawkins2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Enchanting hotel in the quiet village of Hatch Beauchamp. Comfortable rooms with space to relax, lovely dining room, French doors to the garden and a wonderful place to relax. The meals were of extremely high standard and although we only stayed one night as we headed to Cornwall, we felt we were in a special little part of the country. Great location for visits to other points of interest in Ilminster and Wiltshire.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Peaceful, relaxing setting, welcoming real fire on entry into hotel. Comfortable room, we found the bed especially comfortable. Fresh milk available with tea/coffee in rooms, much better than those little vacuum sealed pots! Good breakfast choice, especially the duck egg omelettes. Good location for Taunton, Ilminster, other parts of Somerset, Devon, Wiltshire. Look forward to going again.

Room tip: Room overlooking the garden
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We stayed for one night to celebrate a special occasion and although this hotel is different with lots of character it was the wrong choice for us on this occasion.

The lounge and the restaurant were lacking in ambience they were very brightly lit and we were seated so close to other diners they were joining in our private conversation.
There were very few diners in the restaurant at this time.

Our suite wasn't very large but the bed was comfortable and the shower was good.

Other guests seem to be enjoying their breakfast but we were disappointed, only duck eggs were available which we do not eat due to the flavour and the extremely high cholesterol content.
Only a very small area of the large sausage was actually cooked and the bacon much too salty for us.

When we stay at the smaller boutique hotels we like to interact with the staff, this was not possible on this occasion.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank ClaireandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews