We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farthings Country House Hotel & Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Very comfortable and peaceful hotel. Staff friendly and excellent service. Angus and Sasha the hotel dogs were great company. Stayed in Rowan room very nice. Good place for exploring the area, Sheppy's Cider Farm shop and museum was very interesting, also visited Dulverton village good food at pub by bridge on the edge of Exmoor. Hope to return again.

Jennifer
Mature couple
15.12.11.

Room Tip: The Garden room looked lovely and on first floor, I stayed at Rowan room but had to climb another fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 537 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

this hotel was the worst hotel ive stayed at
there was no hot water
the heating did not come on until 630pm
the bedding was damp
the bar was closed at 8pm
there was one member of staff and he was the receptionist,barman,and waiter for breakfast
breakfast was not served until 8am thats if the chef turned up on time according to the waiter
I did complain but the guy just smiled

Room Tip: the 2 rooms at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fred w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Despite 2 reviews to the contrary we have stayed here twice now on the way down to a Cornwall holiday and have been delighted with our experience - in fact enjoyed it more second time around. Food was great, atmosphere and comfort even better - despite our visit being 2 years apart we were given the same room-which was extremely comfortable and roomy and needs were more than catered for. To be fair I am not sure I would think that 'dog friendly' meant you would have your dogs looked after by others but that you could bring them to that particular hotel. - but perhaps that is my mistake and that is what usually happens.

We will visit again.

Amanda and Gareth

Room Tip: Garden room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muandgru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked here as it was listed as "dog friendly" and initially seemed to be so. The cottage, although decorated in "poor taste 1980s" had a shared but lovely garden for the dogs to romp in. Small problems we were more than prepared to overlook: for instance the kitchen floor was covered in dirt and coffee as was the washing machine. The shower was less than a trickle and the bed was better on one side!
Our problems began when on the second day we were relaxing with a cup of coffee when the door burst open at about 14.30 and a lady began to clean the kitchen with the front door wide open. Privacy considerations aside..........(no she did not knock!) I asked her politely if we could have the door closed as the dogs were loose in the room. She retorted that we have to keep an eye on our own dogs. I asked what would have happened if we had not been there (for instance at breakfast) she was insistent that our dogs were our responsibility.
The manager was spoken to and said that we could put a notice on the door if the dogs were there. I asked why we should have to as we had booked the place with the dogs! No consideration was given to the lack of propriety of the cleaner's behaviour. Why would anyone leave their stuff in a place where the doors were left wide open?
Unable to trust that our dogs would be safe: we came home: another 7 hour drive: only to find that "other charges" had been added on to our credit card bill AFTER WE LEFT. These were not authorized by us. This place is extremely expensive anyway so ANY extra charges are unwarranted.
This whole experience left a nasty taste!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is described as 'Dog friendly', it is not. You are expected to be with your dogs 24/7, so not much of a holiday for you! unless you like leaving your dogs in the car. The food whilst fairly good is very,very expensive as are the drinks. You have to make your own toast for breakfast and the 'full' English is, well, not very full- 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage 1/2 tomato, a handful of very small, burnt mushrooms and an egg. The owner along with the staff is very hard to track down and seems to have scant regard for customer service. One major word of warning. There is an undisclosed cancellation fee-they need 48 hours notice otherwise he'll charge you the full whack. This happened to us when we decided to leave on being told ( via a third party cleaner) that John (the owner) was not happy with us leaving our thoroughly well behaved dogs while we went away for a couple of hours! Seeing as how we were made to feel unwelcome we decided to go home ( some 250+ mies!), only to be charged for 2 extra nights. On trying to reason with John about this unfairness, he swears blind the fees are made clear ( they are not-not even mentioned on his website). He is intransigent and will not listen or respond to any reason. He offered a complimentary 2 nights, but bear in mind he made it clear that we were basically not welcome with the dogs- a sure fire win on his part- we were hardly likely to go back!
Also, watch out for credit card payments. We had one made on our account even after we had left. He takes all your details before you even get the key to your room. This in retrospect is quite sinister and should not be allowed. Check your credit card bill thoroughly!
Nice building and location though, but not priced for your average punter. Don't expect immediate service or a genuine warm welcome and watch out for the charges.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 041014a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
8.5 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
3.9 km away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
8.8 km away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
837 reviews
8.9 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: €50 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing