We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of The Kaye Arms

The Kaye Arms
Ranked #17 of 451 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Charming rural pub offering excellent freshly cooked to order food and a fabulous range of drinks including Cask Marque Yorkshire ales and wines from award winning vineyards. Booking highly recommended as we do get busy every day. Thanks
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was our second visit here after calling in just before Christmas, it will not be our last. Our visit was on a Thursday evening at 18.30 and we hadn't booked, we will know better in the future, it was packed but the staff were still very friendly and welcoming, was told there would be a 20 minute wait for a table for 3, it was more like 10 minutes, we were given menus before being seated so we knew what we wanted. Our order was taken and the meals duly arrived, they were fantastic my wife had the recently installed on the menu braised beef which was very lean ad tasty, our guest had a steak served medium gain with no problems whatsoever, I myself had a Burger with a wedge of Brie beautiful, if I do have a complaint, it is a personal choice, in that I prefer normal chips rather than the skins on type but as I say that is a personal preference, we didn't have starters and after the main courses we didn't have room for Deserts. Definitely worth a visit

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tyroleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi there and many thanks for joining us once again.
We are so pleased to hear that we were able to fit you in with only a short wait as we do get very busy and booking is strongly advised.
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed our "fantastic" food and thank you so much for the positive feedback and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit - don't forget to book!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We received a warm welcome from Rachel as soon as we set foot in the restaurant, even though it was the first time we had been there since she took over. The variety of food was ecellent and reasonably priced. When it arrived we were not disappointed it was excellent. The other staff were all attentive. The selection of beers was good from local breweries. All in all we had a very enjoyable lunch and will certainly be visiting again.

1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi there.
Many thanks for joining us and taking the time to leave such a lovely review.
The kind words are really appreciated and it is great to hear that you enjoyed a warm welcome, great food, attentive service, oh and great beer! That's what we are all about at The Kaye Arms.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Went here for Saturday lunch. There were four of us, we had booked a table in advance and glad that we did. We all ordered different meals and not one of us were disappointed. The chips were divine and the chicken was very succulent. My husband had the steak and ale pie which he said was very tasty. The surroundings were pleasant, apart from us being seated next to a family with two toddlers who were running about being rather noisy. The meals are two for one most of the time. Try it out, you won’t be disappointed.

1  Thank angelini44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi there and many thanks for your review and recommendation.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Always fabulous food and extremely good value. We travel from Birstall to meet friends here nearly every month and we are always greeted promptly with our table ready. Even when they are stretched there is still a smile and nothing is too much trouble.
The online booking system works very well too.
Thanks again for a lovely evening in a relaxed cosy atmosphere. See you again soon.

1  Thank SkierEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi there and thank you so much for your continued support and custom - it really is appreciated.
It is so nice of you to leave such a lovely review. Your positive feedback and comments do really mean so much to the whole team.
So glad you had another lovely evening with us, it was our pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my family visited the Kaye arms for my birthday. I have wanted to go for over a year and I will be visiting again. The food and service was amazing with a great atmosphere. I’m not local but was well worth the drive.

1  Thank kerrytop87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Guest Relations Manager at The Kaye Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi there and many thanks for joining us on your special day.
It is lovely to hear that it was worth making the trip and that you will be returning to join us again soon.
Thank you so much for the kind review and for choosing The Kaye Arms for your celebrations.
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kaye Arms also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Overton, Wakefield
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Kaye Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing