We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
188
8
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade shortbread pillow menu the main house hair spray amazing hosts landscaped gardens wax lyrical nail polish remover locally sourced ingredients roaring fire duck breast first class walk in wardrobe thoughtful touches little touches wine list croft hotel
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We spent 2 nights at Clow Beck House, and found it to be outstanding in every possible way. Everything about this accommodation we just loved, from the comfort to the style, which was unique, while being very tasteful, while at the same time being humourous and a tad outlandish.

The garden is a sight to behold with features of interest in every nook and cranny, clearly a labour of love for the owners Heather and David.

Breakfast was delicious, and the David's special porridge was top notch, and I have been fortunate to taste great porridge all around the world.

Dinner a masterclass.

Well worth it, even if you have to drive 10's of miles away from your intended destination.

Thank you both, for an amazing experience.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank wychwoodtenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Clow Beck House for the weekend in Darlington where I met my childhood best friend after 38 years. If you are looking for a great place to stay then go no further. David and Heather the owners are amazing and run the place single handily. The rooms are spotless the breakfast is fresh, tasty and freshly cooked. We ate in their restaurant one night and again it was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank panda6357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Situated just outside the village of Croft on Tees Clowbeck house, is created from a former farmhouse and out buildings. The gardens are well tended and a great spot to relax. There is a quiet area at the back of the house too. You have a choice of rooms some in the main house others in the buildings outside.

This is not my first visit to clowbeck, so I can confirm that having stayed in a number of the rooms they are comfortable well appointed with the little finishing touches that make a visit special.

Complimentary bath robe and slippers for you to use, a selection of sweets and chefs home made biscuits await you in the room. A helpful guide to the area, plus views across the gardens to the countryside beyond.

Do not be on a diet if you plan to visit Clowbeck. The menu is varied, everything locally sourced and chef always assumes you have a good appetite. Whether your presence is meat, fish or vegetarian everything is cooked to your taste and the non vegetarian dishes are served with a selection of vegetables. For those who enjoy wine again there is a varied menu.

Heather and David are fine hosts, you are welcomed as a guest, like a family member or old friend. David is the chef and will always try to serve the dishes to your preference.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ajayloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

David and Heather go out of their way to make everything hospitable and perfect. In the room are varied kinds of pillows, shortbread and chocolates and many more items.

Like a recent reviewer, we stayed in the Lily also. It's a large room and bathroom. The 2+ acres of landscaped gardens are beautiful. What do you want for breakfast? David will make it.

Be sure to have dinner there also. Varied menu choices and everything was great.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SWFSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Clow Beck House
This year we decided to embrace the concept of the staycation. You know visit some of the great places the UK has to offer and do our bit for the pre-Brexit economy. So we started in Darlington of all places. True, this was to kick off our Yorkshire tour but we began by visiting some friends in the area. And if Clow Beck House is an example, of local quality, then Teesside has much to offer.
We chose Clow Beck House because we liked the online pictures, good online reviews and for its proximity to Darlington.
It's an unusual set up, a bit different from a run-of-the-mill B&B. Set in the countryside with great views, this multi-building complex has rooms and a holiday cottage all set in beautifully manicured gardens. For B&B you stay in a purpose built building called the Granary that has a number of ensuite bedrooms.
Our room, number four, was well appointed, spacious and welcoming with some interesting extras to guarantee our comfort. This included some delicious complementary sweets, chocolates and shortbread. There was even a pillow menu, a first for us, where you can chose from a range of differing pillows depending on how firm or otherwise you like yours. Interesting innovation that!
With a generous supply of sundries like beverages, soaps etc., no detail had been overlooked.
We slept well after we returned from our visiting.

For breakfast, you walk over to the main house, into an impressive medievalist orangery, where our hosts laid on a generously proportioned meal including David's Special Cooked breakfast. And very good it was too, with good quality ingredients cooked with care. With a good accompanying selection of cereal, fruits, preserves and toast, we left well fed and ready for the rest of the day.
If you'd like to try something a bit different in a tranquil, bucolic setting then do try Clow Beck House. Nothing will be too much trouble for the customer focused team there, so you'll be certain to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews