We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Clow Beck House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clow Beck House
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We visited this beautiful bed and breakfast for my birthday this week.
David and Heather are the perfect hosts!
The rooms are spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable with everything you need!
The evening meal was superb and the setting in the conservatory sat next to the roaring fire was a delight!
The grounds are stunning too!
I would highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2017

We spent 2 nights at Clow Beck House, and found it to be outstanding in every possible way. Everything about this accommodation we just loved, from the comfort to the style, which was unique, while being very tasteful, while at the same time being humourous and a tad outlandish.

The garden is a sight to behold with features of interest in every nook and cranny, clearly a labour of love for the owners Heather and David.

Breakfast was delicious, and the David's special porridge was top notch, and I have been fortunate to taste great porridge all around the world.

Dinner a masterclass.

Well worth it, even if you have to drive 10's of miles away from your intended destination.

Thank you both, for an amazing experience.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank wychwoodtenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Clow Beck House for the weekend in Darlington where I met my childhood best friend after 38 years. If you are looking for a great place to stay then go no further. David and Heather the owners are amazing and run the place single handily. The rooms are spotless the breakfast is fresh, tasty and freshly cooked. We ate in their restaurant one night and again it was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank panda6357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Situated just outside the village of Croft on Tees Clowbeck house, is created from a former farmhouse and out buildings. The gardens are well tended and a great spot to relax. There is a quiet area at the back of the house too. You have a choice of rooms some in the main house others in the buildings outside.

This is not my first visit to clowbeck, so I can confirm that having stayed in a number of the rooms they are comfortable well appointed with the little finishing touches that make a visit special.

Complimentary bath robe and slippers for you to use, a selection of sweets and chefs home made biscuits await you in the room. A helpful guide to the area, plus views across the gardens to the countryside beyond.

Do not be on a diet if you plan to visit Clowbeck. The menu is varied, everything locally sourced and chef always assumes you have a good appetite. Whether your presence is meat, fish or vegetarian everything is cooked to your taste and the non vegetarian dishes are served with a selection of vegetables. For those who enjoy wine again there is a varied menu.

Heather and David are fine hosts, you are welcomed as a guest, like a family member or old friend. David is the chef and will always try to serve the dishes to your preference.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ajayloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

David and Heather go out of their way to make everything hospitable and perfect. In the room are varied kinds of pillows, shortbread and chocolates and many more items.

Like a recent reviewer, we stayed in the Lily also. It's a large room and bathroom. The 2+ acres of landscaped gardens are beautiful. What do you want for breakfast? David will make it.

Be sure to have dinner there also. Varied menu choices and everything was great.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SWFSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
1.6 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,691 reviews
10.2 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
10.7 km away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
3.3 km away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
898 reviews
4.8 km away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clow Beck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clow Beck House

Address: Clowfield House Monk End | Croft-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darlington
#2 Business Hotel in Darlington
#4 Family Hotel in Darlington
Price Range: €142 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clow Beck House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning we may be, pretentious we are not. Our surroundings are luxurious, but the setting is an oasis of calm, with every home comfort you could desire. "Good Hotel Guide Cesar Award 2007," "Yorkshire Tourist Board 2007 Guest Accommodation Winner," "English Tourist Boards 2008 awards Finalist to be held in April." Our award-winning restaurant is for the use of our residents and our guests, so you are always guaranteed a table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Clow Beck House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clow Beck House Hotel Croft-On-Tees
Clow Beck Hotel
Clow Beck House Darlington, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing