We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park
Nearby Hotels
US$117
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
482
93
31
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
482
93
31
4
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bottle of winelocal pubwell stocked shopst peters fingerpiped musicgreat sitecraft centretoilet blocklovely campsitegames roommotor homesuperior pitchfully serviced pitchdog walkherb gardenbook swapsite shop
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Thankyou for a wonderful stay. What’s not to like about this campsite.... everything you could want and more, well stocked shop with their own bakery. Fabulous facilities. The staff are all very friendly & helpful. The only downside was it rained all week but it certainly didn’t stop us having a great time. Can’t wait to return. �

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank em_ockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Em,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay despite the interesting weather. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

All at SLMCCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We had the most amazing four night stay at this wonderful site despite the dreadful weather.The staff could not do enough for us and made us very welcome.The shower and toilet block was spotless all the time despite the relentless rain and mud.We left our car on site and caught the bus outside the gates which goes to Poole Bournemouth Swanage and Weymouth,no parking problems to cope with and a big saving on fees.This was our first visit and we have already booked another stay in July.We have stayed all over the UK and this is the best site ever with such lovely staff.Well done South Lytchett Manor you made our stay wonderful and thank you again.Pat and Denita Folkestone

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank patrickplavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Pat and Denita,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad you felt welcome and enjoyed all of our facilities whilst on site. We are also glad that you found the local buses useful, and fully enjoyed the beautiful surrounding areas. We look forward to seeing you again in July, where we really hope you find your stay just as fabulous!

Kind Regards,

All at SLMCCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was our first visit, and certainly won't be our last.
It was our inaugural trip with our 'new' motorhome, 'Milly', and we couldn't have chosen a better place for it.
We'll gloss over the fact that it was raining cats and dogs virtually the whole time, and concentrate on what a lovely place this is. It is absolutely immaculate..so beautiful and well maintained.
The proprietors and their team are wonderfully warm and friendly. I can honestly say that there wasn't a single grumpy face, even though they were coping with the flooding that was occurring in some areas, leading up to Easter.
The onsite reception/shop is a hub of smiles, and holds most things you might want during your stay..including fresh baked bread, and newly laid eggs from the resident hens (who are magnificent!)
We had an excellent all service hardstanding pitch that was very generous in size and close to the immaculate facilities which have the best showers we have ever encountered on a camp site, by far.
We were impressed with so many things I could write a book!
Because of the weather we stayed put and didn't venture offsite in Milly, but it was still a pleasure as we could look out the lovely green surroundings and be cosy and peaceful. Our two elderly dogs were happy to snooze the days away but, during a dry spell, they did enjoy a wander in the fabulously large and very safe dog field provided for their convenience :)
Free wifi meant that we could wile away the time keeping in touch with friends, and browsing the internet.
The comprehensive recycling facility is a huge boost as we should all be watching out for the environment and doing our best to preserve it. We were given a special bag to put recycling in, which made the process very convenient...no excuses!! There was even a bin for old batteries at the waste collection area.. brilliant!
(One little observation: it would have been helpful to have more than one bin for dog waste. The only designated one we could find was at the dog exercise area. Unless we could have put it in general waste?)
The complimentary vouchers for the local pub and cafe were put to good use. Dylan's tea room, just off site, is a delight. So warm and charming and serves good wholesome food with a smile.
St Peter's Finger, a ten minute walk away, is an Hall and Woodhouse establishment and a more friendly welcome for ourselves and for our dogs couldn't be had. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, washed down with a free bottle of wine which was delicious!
Needless to say we intend to return to South Lytchett Manor to explore further it's delights, and those around and about. Many thanks to all who are responsible for this lovely place.


Stayed: April 2018
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Sarah,

Wow, thank you so much for a brilliant review, you really captured the essence of our family run campsite and the experience that we try to provide every guest. It is lovely to hear that we were your choice for Milly's first outing and that you will be returning!

We are glad that you noticed our wonderful shower facilities that we renovated over winter and our freshly baked bread from our new onsite bakery on its first ever outing!

We really look forward to seeing you again soon for another Dorset experience.

Kind Regards,

All at SLMCCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We spent a wonderfully relaxing weekend here over Easter, this tie in one of the Romany caravans, ours was called Maggie and what a brilliant experience!!
The caravan was absolutely superb and supremely comfortable and cosy over what was a wet weekend!! The caravan has a double bed and two singles all of which were really comfortable and includes a small hob and a fridge. There is something really therapeutic about hearing the rain on the outside knowing that you are snug and dry inside.
The toilets and showers are directly opposite the caravans and these were again supremely clean even in such adverse conditions, Dave and the team should be very proud of these caravans and the site as a whole.
If you want a totally relaxing break away from it all whether glamping camping or in your motorhome or caravan then this is the place to come!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Dave,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of our Romany Caravan Maggie. We are so glad that you were so impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the park and Romany Caravans. We are really proud of our campsite and how far it has come in the last eleven years and we really appreciate all your feedback, which helps us to maintain our standards and improve them in the years to come! We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

All at SLMCCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with our 7 month old baby in campervan. The amenities are excellent and cleaned very regularly, so absolutely spotless.
All the staff are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
They have a very well stocked shop too, with everything you could need for camping.
Also a lovely little walk takes you through to courtyard with few little shops and tea rooms, where we had the best ever cream teas.
Will definitely return in the summer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank JennyA596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happycustomerjo, Manager at South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Jenny,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really hope you enjoyed your stay with us and your 7month old has already caught the camper van-ing bug! We would love to see you again in the summer!

Everyone at SLMCCP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews