We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Lovely Waterfront View”
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The hotel is a little dated and the rooms a bit tired. However, the staff and the harbour views more than make up for this disappointment. The reception staff could not do enough for you and were very welcoming. If you book into a room overlooking the harbour You will not be disappointed. It is in the perfect location on the quay with a large car park. Very expensive for a 3 star hotel but we would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel following your recent visit. I'm pleased that you found our staff helpful and welcoming and enjoyed our stunning location and views.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan Bowen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Poole
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Comfortable, friendly in a good location. I and my small Dandie dog enjoyed our one night stay. Free WiFi a bonus. It was also pleasant to stroll along the harbour front in the evening. Plenty of eating places that were also dog friiendly.

Room Tip: I had a sea view room whch was lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Jonathan Bowen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Very smooth booking in, very helpful staff. Parking is round the back of the building and they charge £6 per day on departure, it could be free but its not bad so acceptable. Breakfast was offered as a special on arrival at 10.00 per person. Plenty of eateries though on the quay. The room was spacious clean and toiletries teas coffee etc topped up each day. Internet is very good.The location is fantastic, with boat trips about 5 minutes away. Will easily go back to Poole to do more and will easily go back to this hotel. A very clean looking hotel indeed.Well worth it if you get a decent price as I did for August.

Room Tip: they offered me a floor option on arrival, so you could ask this at the time of booking. we were at...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pod12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you chose us for your accommodation requirements and that you loved your stay!

I have shared this feedback with the entire team in order for them to remain motivated to ensuring this high level of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan Bowen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stay, on our return from Jersey, as it was to late to continue our journey home.
On arrival, there was nobody on reception, we waited several minutes until eventually somebody came.

Our room was clean, but, immediately on opening the door, we were hit with a very very strong smell of must and damp.
The bath, with shower over, was so worn that the coating was coming off and gave the appearance of the bath being filthy dirty.
We were pleased that we were only staying for the 1 night, as we would not have wanted to use the bath had we stayed longer.

We ordered room service, as the restaurant was a bout to stop serving.
The service for this was good and the food nice.
Breakfast was also nice, with a good choice and friendly staff.
Checkout, was better than check in, with different staff on the desk, very friendly also.

Our room was supposed to have been one of their better rooms, rather than a standard double and overlooked the harbour, however, if this was they classed as a superior room, I cannot imagine what a standard room looked like.
Apart from the fact that it did overlook the harbour, there was certainly nothing superior about it.

We paid in advance, but, I cannot in all honesty say that it was worth what we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barbarahughes122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful, room clean and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering.

With regards to the decor of the room and the smell, please be advised that I have passed on this information to the relevant departments for a full review. You state that you booked a superior room, however we do not offer this option, only standard rooms and harbour view rooms. The only difference being the view of the harbour. I am very sorry if you were mis-informed regarding this.

I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan Bowen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here just for 1 night as a stop off. The staff were really friendly and hotel was lovely and clean.
We had the harbour as our view from the bedroom which was great, it was so nice to wake up and look out to the sea.
We stayed woth our 8 yr old son in a double room, with an extra single bed they had put in for our stay.
The rooms were comfortable with coffee tea kettle etc and flat screen t.v..
Would recommend this place, its a short walk to the harbour front with its many shops, bars and restaurants.
A lovely comfortable hotel with friendly staff, We would definately stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of the Thistle Poole following your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and in particular found the team here very friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and the fact that you have highlighted this further motivates us to continue this high level of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan Bowen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.8 km away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
4.1 km away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,506 reviews
4.0 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: €69 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing