We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very very disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
chipper127
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very very disapointed”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

budget hotel, room was good size but very tired wallpaper peeling, paintwork grubby, mould on shower sealant, not dirty just tired, my main complaint they advertise a restaurant mmm well beware first night i had a burger from the very very limited menu chips were frozen and just cooked the buger to be fair was ok salad was dried out, breakfast was very limited if you like a full english, i took one look and decided against it, second night right i thought somthing good to eat , chicken sorry we have none, chicken curry sorry we have none, chicken wings same old story none, so i go for the meat feast pizza i know its going to be a frozen one so not expecting to much but mmm all crispy and brown yummy i thought but not to be cold and uncooked on the inside ...i just gave it back had another pint at £3.80p yes thats what it cost and went to bed i checked the prices of chocolate etc expect to pay double what you would pay in a shop.
i dont pay my company does, i know now why the rest of my work mates try with a vengence to avoid this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTurners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole. Our rooms are in the process of being refurbished and work should be completed by the end of the year.

Secondly I would like to apologies for the standard of your dinner, you comments have been passed on to our kitchen and improvements will be made.

Once again thank you for taking the time to contact us, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    308
    217
    96
    58
See reviews for
197
307
33
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just come back from a one night stay here. The service was both rude and sub-standard to be honest. My partner called the hotel the day before to see if we could check-in at 12pm as we had to go to a wedding at 2pm. The lady on the phone said she didnt think it would be a problem however Sarah on reception was really quite rude to us upon arrival. She kept saying that it wasn;t company policy etc over and over again and her attitude was completely unhelpful. I know its a budget hotel and you get what you pay for but not offering any solution and then checking in other people was out of line really. As a result we had to get changed in the car and 2 of our friends managed to check in at 1pm!! disgraceful.

rooms are fine although it was noisy in the evening. breakfast was a complete shambles, no plates, cups, nobody supervising and hardly any tables getting cleared. the fresh orange juice had clearly been watered down and the apple juice dispenser dispnsed water.

won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kid_a18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously and rest assured we will be addressing the issue’s raised with our team at Poole. As a standard at Holiday Inn Express hotels, normal check in is 3pm, although we do try to honour any early check in requests this is not always possible.

I'd like to thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express, Poole and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Very impressed with the booking process, booked online then received a text and a telephone call to confirm our booking. Easy to park and free and able to book in 2 hours early without a charge.
Our room was very clean, bed a bit too soft for us and the duvet didn't seem big enough! Good size shower room, shower was lacking in power though and the lack of an extractor fan meant it got very hot and steamy. Nice flat screen TV with lots of channels,hairdryer, and tray with tea, coffee etc, no biscuits though and never enough milk cartons. The weekend we were there it was bitterly cold but our room had its own radiator which heated the room up really quickly. We were very cosy and warm.
The area around the hotel wasn't very pedestrian friendly but it only took us 15 mins to walk to Poole quay. Well situated to visit Bournemouth and Christchurch and even Ikea in Southampton.
The only lift decided to break down over the weekend which meant we had to drag our luggage down from the 2nd floor, not ideal but can't be helped.
Breakfast was great, cereals, fruit, yogurts, danish pastries, toast, fruit juice. also sausages, beans, hash browns and scrambled egg, lovely selection.
Overall, a nice clean hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted that you have found our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff professional and helpful. Our central location is great for exploring Poole and the surrounding areas and we are glad you enjoyed your time here.

We are pleased you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here for business (stayed on the 2nd floor) and the hotel met all my needs. The room was simply furnished but with all the essentials (e.g. hair dryer, water heater for drinks) and most importantly, it was clean! The TV selection was poor though - it needed to be tuned in everytime you turned it on. The breakfast was very basic. Did not try the 'scrambled egg' as one of the staff said it was a new packet mix and needed someone to try it.... Plenty of toast and cereals - wouldn't advise the 'cooked breakfast' though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hectorgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Secondly I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with our breakfast offering & TV quality. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously and rest assured we will be addressing the issue raised with our team at Poole.

I'd like to thank you again for choosing Holiday Inn Express, Poole and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards ,

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The room was perfect, the parking was good, location good for Poole and the breakfast was a definite bonus. A pity that there is no bacon - the continental selection, though, was great. It's not a brilliant breakfast, but included in the price, it is a winner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be passing on your feedback to my team. I was delighted that you liked your overall experience of The Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back personally on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.7 km away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
844 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,112 reviews
4.2 km away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing